Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

  1. #1
    100 Club sami's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    I’ve got two phases, both phases have walls that were created in that phase and rooms that were created in that phase, nothing demolished.

    I can’t see the rooms that were created in phase 1 when the view is set to phase 2.

    I tried changing the phase filter to show complete or show all, I can see the walls of both phases but I can only see the rooms of the current phase.
    Sami Kazemi
    Architect, OAA, LEED AP
    Toronto, Canada
    www.kazemi.ca

    Revit Architecture 2011, Windows XP

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    The rooms, or the annotation of the rooms?

  3. #3
    100 Club sami's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    both the room and annotation of the room
    (the view is set to a colour scheme, so I can't see the coloured rooms also)

    I should have also mentioned that the walls and rooms are grouped (multi storey building) so I don't know if this has something to do with it..
    Sami Kazemi
    Architect, OAA, LEED AP
    Toronto, Canada
    www.kazemi.ca

    Revit Architecture 2011, Windows XP

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    810
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    Rooms are only visible in the phase that they are created in. This is to avoid room clashes when e.g. a partition between two Existing rooms is removed in the Proposed phase. You should copy and Paste in Place the Existing rooms in the Proposed phase.

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    4,516
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    Yeah, this is still brutal. Rooms NEED to be multi-phase aware. If the whole room doesnt get "demolished" in a later phase, but a new wall cuts it in half, show half of its formerly reported SF as demolished in a schedule. We have rooms with intelligent origins to declare which portion to hold to, this should be fixable.
    The above post is by a user not frequenting the site. Questions regarding post:
    Send to: aaron@aaronmaller.com (include text of post). Thanks.

  6. #6
    100 Club sami's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    I see the rational for this in a renovation project, but what I have here is all new construction, it will just be built over two stages, east tower will be built first, then west tower in phase 2..
    so really all my floor plans need to show both phases (rooms and all), but in my 3d views I need to control the visibility of tower 1 & tower 2 per view.. so I can show the two phases..

    so what is the best way to do this, it seems phases is not the best tool for this..
    I was also thinking of worksets, but I don't know if that is the right aproach..
    Sami Kazemi
    Architect, OAA, LEED AP
    Toronto, Canada
    www.kazemi.ca

    Revit Architecture 2011, Windows XP

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,813
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    Phases aren't really meant to show construction sequencing. If this will really be built in separate phases (separate contracts or at separate times, or both) then yes, phases should be used for this.

    We have a current project with some renovation and new construction spanning FOUR phases. We had to create a "Final Presentation Phase" after all the other phases in order to show the color floor plans correctly. Simply copy/paste same place the room elements and tags from your earlier phase to your later phase as was mentioned earlier. Since you're not dealing with any existing/demolished construction, it should be pretty straight forward in your case.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  8. #8
    100 Club sami's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    copying and pasting might not be very wise in my particular case since this is still early design so rooms will change a lot and I don't want the duplication at this point.

    for my current purpose I might end up with view overrides on the "phase 2 tower" without actually using phases..

    I understand the rationalle for all this but it would be good if we had the ability to show rooms of previous phases as a filter option for cases like this..

    thank your for all your great responses..
    Sami Kazemi
    Architect, OAA, LEED AP
    Toronto, Canada
    www.kazemi.ca

    Revit Architecture 2011, Windows XP

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,813
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: can’t see Phase 1 rooms when view is Phase 2

    Yes, being still early on I would probably just do it all in one phase, also. Once you get things more nailed down, you can start separating things out into phases if you need to. But being relatively simple with only 2 phases of new construction and no existing renovation or demolition, view filters and/or graphic overrides may end up being the simplest option for you.

    Since 2011 introduced Worksets as a valid filter parameter, you could easily set up each phase of construction on a separate workset and then set up filters to only show the items on a particular workset in each view, or not show items on a particular workset in each view.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

Similar Threads

  1. Phase Status/Phase Filter - Future
    By John Colby in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-08-11, 07:08 PM
  2. Change phase of rooms: RAC 2010
    By Gordon.Price in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-04-28, 12:20 PM
  3. Outline of Demo Walls Showing in Rooms in New Construction Phase
    By cblackford in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-05-05, 09:25 PM
  4. Moving rooms to a new phase?
    By Gordon.Price in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-09-09, 07:26 PM
  5. Room Objects staying from phase to phase
    By srobbins in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-12-08, 11:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •