Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Importing points with Lat and Longs

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Posts
    102
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Importing points with Lat and Longs

    I am trying to import a set of points using latitudes and Longitudes. I have a Point File format set up as a comma delimited CSV file with Point Number, DecDeg-Latitude, DecDeg-Longitude, Point Elevation, Raw Description. My Zone is set to UTM-WGS 1984 Datum, Zone 17 North; Cent. Meridian 81d W. But when I try and import the points I get the message "No points were transferred from the source" what am I doing wrong? i am using C3D 2010.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Importing points with Lat and Longs

    Sounds like you're following the right basic steps...

    Can you post your Point File Format and a sample of your data?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    37
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Importing points with Lat and Longs

    I came across this post from autodesk forums.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time brian.hailey933139's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    734
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Importing points with Lat and Longs

    In your file, make sure there is no header data and that the very first line in your file is the very first point.
    Brian J. Hailey PE
    CAD-1
    Civil3D PLUS My blog
    At Your Desk Training

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Importing points with Lat and Longs

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeosborne View Post
    I am trying to import a set of points using latitudes and Longitudes. I have a Point File format set up as a comma delimited CSV file with Point Number, DecDeg-Latitude, DecDeg-Longitude, Point Elevation, Raw Description. My Zone is set to UTM-WGS 1984 Datum, Zone 17 North; Cent. Meridian 81d W. But when I try and import the points I get the message "No points were transferred from the source" what am I doing wrong? i am using C3D 2010.
    I sometimes use CorpsCon http://crunch.tec.army.mil/software/.../corpscon.html to translate the Lat Long to a PNEZD file

    Allen

Similar Threads

  1. Importing CAD with points:
    By jj mac in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-22, 04:06 PM
  2. Importing points
    By clopez.160581 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-28, 01:44 AM
  3. IMPORTING POINTS
    By mwilson in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-18, 12:04 PM
  4. Importing GPS points
    By domonic_20 in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2006-07-25, 02:47 PM
  5. Entering lats & longs as points in 2005
    By rlarabee in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-10-05, 05:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •