See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Delete unused worksets?

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Delete unused worksets?

    I have taken over a very large project that has been worked on by many different people. I am in the process of cleaning up the worksets. I am trying to simplify the worksets by creating new ones and changing all the Revit objects to their appropriate workset. Here is my process:

    1. Open all worksets.
    2. Make all worksets editable.
    3. Open 3D view
    4. Turn on all model annotation, imported categories and Revit links.
    5. Turn off all worksets except one.
    6. Select all items for the open workset and change to appropriate workset.
    7. Open worksets and delete newly “emptied” workset.

    This is were I run into problems. I have everything turned on and nothing hidden yet it still asked me “Elements that belonged to the workset being deleted should be:” deleted or moved to another workset.

    I know in the past as I deleted worksets it would just ask if I wanted to delete it and not if I wanted to move items to another workset. This leads me to believe that there are still items in the workset.

    How can this be if I am sure I have everything on and I don’t see any other objects?

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,864
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Delete unused worksets?

    That is the same process I use when first setting up a project with worksets that has had preliminary work done already, or when cleaning up items on the wrong workset.

    You can try using a filter. Create a new filter, check to list items from all disciplines, check all, and then set the filter to "workset" does not equal the one you're trying to delete.

    Now go to a 3D view, and make sure the phase of the view is set to the latest phase and set the Phase Filter to Show All. Now under V/G add the filter, and set it's visibility to Off. That should remove everything from the view that is not on that particular workset. Then if you see anything left in the view you can move those to the appropriate worksets.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Delete unused worksets?

    Thanks for the response. I tried your solution for mutiple workset names and no more items showed up.

    I think I figured it out. There are a bunch of groups associated with worksets. Once I change those I will see what happens...

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Delete unused worksets?

    Changing group worksets did not work.

    Any other answers?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    2
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Delete unused worksets?

    Alright, it is not just about 3D objects. There might be elements on 2D views that belong to user-created worksets such as model lines, rooms, spaces, room and space seperation lines, levels and grids, REVIT links, so on... these elements might have been assigned to user-created worksets by mistake. You need to make sure that all these elements in 2D views are assigned to proper worksets. Depending on the number of views that are already created, it may take either an hour or days.

    Tip: Even though a REVIT link is assigned to a workset in the Properties Palette, it needs to be assigned to the same worksets under the Type Properties. Otherwise, it would be controlled by two different worksets and whenever you turn one of those worksets off, the link will disappear. So make sure in the Type Properties, REVIT links are not assigned to the worksets that you want to delete.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Talha Dikgitmez
    BIM Specialist @CRS

Similar Threads

  1. Can't delete unused plan view
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-08-10, 03:21 PM
  2. Can't delete unused datalinks
    By bhron_d in forum AutoCAD Tables
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-30, 09:30 PM
  3. How to delete unused components from the type selector?
    By cag5142 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-06-29, 05:46 PM
  4. delete unused plotters in pulldown menu
    By Pat-North in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-06-09, 02:39 PM
  5. Delete Unused Levels
    By bwagner in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-02-21, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •