Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Callout Reference Label

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Callout Reference Label

    When placeing a Callout that references another Callout, the default Reference Label is "Sim". I have created additional Types with Reference Labels "Opp", "Typ". However, if I have multiple Callouts referencing one original Callout, they all use only one Label. If i need one to say "Opp", and other to say "Typ", it does't happen. If i change the Type of one, others change their type to that. So they are all saying "Typ", or they are all saying "Opp". Can't have them say different things. What am I doing wrong?

    This exact scenerio works with the Reference Label of an Elevation tag. issue seems only with Detail Callout. Am I doing something wrong, or is this a bug?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    285
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Callout Reference Label

    Quote Originally Posted by French Quarters View Post
    When placeing a Callout that references another Callout, the default Reference Label is "Sim". I have created additional Types with Reference Labels "Opp", "Typ". However, if I have multiple Callouts referencing one original Callout, they all use only one Label. If i need one to say "Opp", and other to say "Typ", it does't happen. If i change the Type of one, others change their type to that. So they are all saying "Typ", or they are all saying "Opp". Can't have them say different things. What am I doing wrong?

    This exact scenerio works with the Reference Label of an Elevation tag. issue seems only with Detail Callout. Am I doing something wrong, or is this a bug?
    duplicate the callout bubble, rename it, and change the reference label in the copy would probably work
    Dave Jones
    Drafting & Design Plus (DDP)
    OneBox 2014 Win 7 Pro 64 bit
    Intel I7-3770k @4.44mhz
    32GB DDR3 RAM GeForce GTX670

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,868
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Callout Reference Label

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones DDP View Post
    duplicate the callout bubble, rename it, and change the reference label in the copy would probably work
    Nope, it doesn't.

    Your original view's Reference Label parameter setting controls the reference label for any and all callouts or other views that reference that original view.

    Elevations work because the mark body and the mark pointer can be set separately to different elevation view types. So your original elevation might have its type set with SIM, but then you can create another elevation type with OPP, place another elevation referencing your original, and change the mark body (the circle or square) to your OPP type.

    This has been an issue for many releases now. Way back in version 7 and before, this worked correctly. You could set different sections referencing an original to have different reference labels. This is long overdue to be fixed. The reference label REALLY needs to be an instance parameter.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-05
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Callout Reference Label

    Yes, I agree. I have 3 detail types. One without a label, one with SIM. and one with OH. It works great if you are referencing a modeled detail view. But if i try to reference a drafting view with one callout (no label) and another using OH label type, Revit wants to use the same type for both because they are referencing the same view. They should be independant of one another. This feature does not work if you are referencing a single drafting view multiple times with different conditions/types. That's a shame - i will wish list it if it hasnt already been done so.
    RAC 2012

Similar Threads

  1. Automating Label & Callout Data
    By monzoor.hossain780589 in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-10-24, 08:43 PM
  2. callout or label for dimension line needed
    By fwaldropii in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-11-16, 12:00 PM
  3. callout reference other view
    By colnagoboy in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-06-15, 10:47 PM
  4. callout reference
    By cookie in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-04-07, 04:57 PM
  5. Callout reference sheet
    By Griff in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-07, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •