Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Masking region not covering the grids

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-01
    Posts
    53
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Masking region not covering the grids

    Hi every one,

    I have a Revit model linked to my interior file and need to cover a part of the grid, but I used a masking region and it does not cover the grids. Any idea how to fix this problem?

    Thanks in advance
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,744
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    Duplicate view with detailing and adjust the 2d line representation of the grids.
    I don't believe you can mask grid lines.
    Only other thought would be to use a broken grid line (grid w/ gap) type. I'm not sure if that was one we found, created or came OOTB. It works, but not that great.
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  3. #3
    100 Club RobG's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    164
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    unless i'm missing something David, even the 2D one doesn't allow it to be "broken" in the middle as desired from the image. With that said, even given the example in the image, i've never needed/wanted to hide a segment of the grid. The grid, in my opinion, is one of those things that rarely gets touched/hidden/masked, if ever.
    Rob Grant
    Architectural Technician - Woodworker

  4. #4
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,744
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    You need the "grid gap" type if you want a grid line that still shows both ends without the middle.
    If you only need to show one end of the grid bubble, I'd adjust the 2d line.

    And you're correct you don't usually show them. However when a grid stops in a building, or there's no columns on the sheet of the plan, you should see it. Or if it's above or below that floor. ie if there's no need for the grid to be there and it doesn't relate back to anything I wouldn't want to see it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  5. #5
    100 Club RobG's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    164
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    haha, dumb moment, totally forgot about that feature.

    Don't know why they don't do it like the section tool where it's a break in the middle of the line that you can just click in an instance situation instead of a type driven object.
    Rob Grant
    Architectural Technician - Woodworker

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-11
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    I have an MEP model with no grids. The ARCH model is linked in with grids. The same situation occurs but since you cannot manipulate the grids
    through the MEP model. Any thoughts? Other than copy/monitor and modify as indicated in previous posts.

  7. #7
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2001-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    181
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masking region not covering the grids

    You can create a generic annotation family with only a masking region made up of invisible lines and some parameters so that you can change it's size. Note that while the annotation family will be placed in the actual view, the size of the masking region will need to mimic the size that it will appear on printed paper.
    Joshua Kohl
    Eastern Exterior Wall Systems, Inc
    Bethlehem, PA 18017
    www.eews.com

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Masking Region not masking properly -- View not set to wireframe
    By Joshua Kohl in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2011-11-13, 11:28 PM
  2. Fill region covering up eelctrical symbologies
    By davel.254027 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-06-13, 07:44 PM
  3. 2009/E - have Masking Region mask Grids (and other annotations) - O
    By lcamara in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-05-25, 08:10 AM
  4. Field Region turns into Masking Region
    By thalim in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-11-13, 05:40 AM
  5. Masking Regions / Grids
    By psteel in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-07, 01:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •