Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    I am in the process of creating some Dynamic Blocks. I want to put a wipeout in the block but for some reason the wipeout will not stay behind my Dynamic Block objects. I am sending the wipeout behind the objects when I am in the block editor but it doesn't stay behind them. Can someone help with this issue?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by jjvapas View Post
    I am in the process of creating some Dynamic Blocks. I want to put a wipeout in the block but for some reason the wipeout will not stay behind my Dynamic Block objects. I am sending the wipeout behind the objects when I am in the block editor but it doesn't stay behind them. Can someone help with this issue?
    Draworder isn't going to do the job inside a block very well. You need to recreate the objects you want on top. Try this routine:
    Code:
    ;Because draworder often requires a regen.
    (defun C:Recreate (/ ss)
      (setq ss (ssget "I"))
      (if (= ss nil)
        (progn
          (prompt "Select Objects to Recreate on Top.")
          (setq ss (ssget))
        )
      )
      (command "._UNDO" "_BEgin")
      (command "copy" ss "" "_non" "0,0" "")
      (command "erase" ss "")
      (princ)
    )

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    Thanks for the code it seems to work. The problem is wipeout causes all kinds of problems. I have a dynamic block with several different parameters and they all get screwed up. I'm struggling to get the function of all the other parameters to work after putting the wipeout into the block. Any tips on creating dynamic blocks with masking regionswould be appreciated. It's much easier in Revit!

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    instead of a wipeout, use a solid hatch with the color set to Truecolor 255,255,255

    presuming you are plotting with lines overwrite, not lines merge

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    Thank you Tom and cadtag. Tom the code you provided works well. Thanks for sharing. cadtag - the solid hatch technique works well too. I was able to utilize it in my block with multiple visibility parameters. The downside to the hatch is you lose the other objects from a visibility standpoint being that I am creating the objects on layer 0. I'll live with the downsides though because they work! I will probably use both techniques depending on the situation.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks

    I've been trying to draw steel roof deck for years and have tried lines and blocks, but have not hit upon an effective method to truncate [correct term?] the ends without the "deck" shape distorting/extending at the ends [line] or not appearing [arrayed dblock]. This morning I hit upon using a moving wipeout xhatch in the arrayed dblock to "erase" the leading end, but have also run into problems with draw order. Each array is newer than the wipeout and ends up on top when I want it under [see attached dwg]. Can draw order be designated by layer, rather than object, so that all objects on a layer have the same relative draw order as compared to all objects on another layer?

    I am an absolute novice and completely lost when it comes to lisp. That's something that's always interested me but never had the time to learn; too busy doing what I am supposed to be doing.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic Wipeout for Blocks
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2017-01-13, 07:56 PM
  2. Dynamic Blocks - Creating dynamic bolt blocks
    By jake1889 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-08-08, 12:56 PM
  3. Dynamic Block with Wipeout looses draworder setting
    By sschwartz85916 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-11-06, 06:21 PM
  4. Using Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks
    By JamminJim in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-06-12, 01:14 PM
  5. Masks/Wipeout for Blocks
    By dmayer74 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-05-25, 01:50 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •