Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Transferring files from ACAD Civil 3D to Windes (Microdrainage)

  1. #1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Transferring files from ACAD Civil 3D to Windes (Microdrainage)

    Hi,

    I am trying to export a drainage network from ACAD civil 3D to Windes. I have followed the procedure in ACAD 3d and successfully exported the file into an “.sws” format which is required for windes (See images 1-3 in the pdf attachment).

    When i then try to open the file using windes- system 1 (Microdrainage version 12.5), I get the error message seen in image 4.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2011-04
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Transferring files from ACAD Civil 3D to Windes (Microdrainage)

    Hi Phil,

    I am part of the support team for Micro Drainage so am able to assist on the WinDes side of things.

    The SWS link is provided in Civils based one the SWS file format that we publish for 3rd parties to link to us. We have encountered a few problematic files recently due to a minor error in the creation of the SWS file. The resolution in these cases was to open the file in notepad and adding in a missing number to then allow WinDes to load the file correctly.Typically the problematic files look like this:

    INTERNATIONAL SWS-FWS
    8/4/2011

    Title1
    Title2
    Title3

    Storm, W.11.4
    UK, 1
    STANDARD.PIP
    However the file format dictates that there should be a starting page number in the gap between the hard copy headings and the product name. i.e.

    INTERNATIONAL SWS-FWS
    8/4/2011

    Title1
    Title2
    Title3
    1
    Storm, W.11.4
    UK, 1
    STANDARD.PIP
    Due to the number of similar issues with 3rd party links our next release, W.12.6, release will detect this issue and prevent errors. If this doesn't resolve the problem or you have any further questions regarding WinDes please drop us a line on support@microdrainage.co.uk

  3. #3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Transferring files from ACAD Civil 3D to Windes (Microdrainage)

    Great,

    thanks for that!

    Phil

  4. #4
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2011-05
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Transferring files from ACAD Civil 3D to Windes (Microdrainage)

    I am also having issues exporting pipe networks from Civil 3D to windes sws file. I have used the details below and it works, however, it is only exporting part of my network and not it all. I actually says what is and is not going to be exporeted. How can I get it to export the whole network?

    Regards

    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. Importing microdrainage SWS/FWS files
    By wayne.orton714858 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-02-23, 12:04 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-09-11, 07:03 PM
  3. Transferring Project from Linked Files to a Worksharing system
    By kmill.arch in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-23, 10:26 PM
  4. Civil 3d - Windes import question
    By arak11 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-05-07, 05:05 PM
  5. 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D
    By marble in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2007-02-02, 12:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •