See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    17
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    In the process of getting the company I work for updated to AutoCAD 2012 I have encounter a strange display issue. some of my old drawings react normally, but others show strange display behavior. The issue is that some drawing will display as a single color (gray). However if I chcange the visual style to anything other than the default of "2D Wireframe" the correct layer colors appear. There is another number of .dwgs that appear in the proper color, but the linw weight displayed is so heavey that you can't read the text. These issues are solved by copying and pasting the entites into a new drawing, but that is not a very friendly solution. i have compared variables and setting, but cannot find a common denominator. Any help is appreciated,

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,406
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    I'd recommend first checking the LWDISPLAY system variable and setting it to OFF, if it's not already.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    Archibus, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, Tandem, and Planon, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    17
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Tnaks for the quick response, and I checked that variable, but sadly it is already off.

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Audit the drawings, and/or Recover them?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    17
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    I have run audits and they return no errors.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,504
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Just a thought, on the ones that are effected;

    Do you have "Display Plot Styles" checked on?
    (and do you have the correct plot styles assigned to them?)

    This will make them appear as they would be plotted, given the plot style that is assigned to the layout.

    Look into your Page Setup Manager on those drawings to be sure.

    Hope that helps

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    17
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Bingo!! Almost there.

    Now how do I automate the removal of the check from that setting.

    Thank you Ted.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,504
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Quote Originally Posted by kfreitag View Post
    Bingo!! Almost there.

    Now how do I automate the removal of the check from that setting.

    Thank you Ted.
    Maybe THIS THREAD will help.. sort of.

    This was asking to have the plot style display on (not off)

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,504
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    Maybe THIS THREAD will help.. sort of.

    This was asking to have the plot style display on (not off)
    After looking at that routine, I modified it to meet your reqest, if you place this code in your acaddoc.lsp it will turn off the "display plot styles" in every drawing you open.

    Code:
    (defun showpstyle ( / DOC LAYOUTS)
      (setq doc (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object))
            layouts (vla-get-layouts doc)
            ); setq
      (vlax-for n layouts
        (vl-catch-all-apply 'vla-put-showplotstyles (list n :vlax-false))
        ); vlax-for
      (vla-regen doc acAllViewports)
      (mapcar 'vlax-release-object (list layouts doc))
      (princ)
      ); defun
    (showpstyle)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    17
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: old .dwgs lineweight and color issues

    Here is the error i get with that code: "; error: no function definition: VLAX-GET-ACAD-OBJECT"
    I'm guessing that the VLAX functions are part of another addin.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Lineweight Issues with AutoCAD 2015
    By mccurleyd691347 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2015-02-23, 05:38 PM
  2. Assign Lineweight per color not layer
    By fcfcadd in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2008-05-14, 03:18 PM
  3. stb dwgs lineweight control in revit
    By D_Driver in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-14, 06:19 AM
  4. Footing lineweight issues
    By jmctamney in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-02-28, 05:21 PM
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2005-01-20, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •