Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

  1. #11
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by John MacFall View Post
    We have projects with hundreds of drawings. I don't think it would be practical to create a template with all of the layer names in it. But thank you for the thought.
    As compared to what exactly... Are you not doing this manually at the moment?
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  2. #12
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by John MacFall View Post
    Yeah, that's pretty much what has to happen. But the holding tank concept has to be a part of it, otherwise I'd be in an endless loop of changing colors that have already been changed. If I could somehow get the application to read two selected color tables and spit out a script to run on the drawing to change it from being compatible with one color table into being compatible with the other color table......
    I have no idea what are you talking about.

    Use vlax-for + cond combo, dude.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  3. #13
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by John MacFall View Post
    My office has standards for layer colors. Our client has different standards for layer colors. I want to be able to change all of my layers that are magenta, for instance, to yellow for the client's deliverables, and so on thru the entire Acad color spectrum. Does anybody have either a lisp routine or script for doing that?
    Is it the file content that is important or hardcopy?
    Actually, scrub that.
    How about a custom plot configuration (ctb and maybe stb) that assigns a different colour to each pen then, in Page Setup, check the "display plot styles" box. The assigned colours will display on-screen and in hardcopy.

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    At the end of a project I'm required to deliver a set of editable CAD drawings to the client, a large school district with lots of employees who may consult those drawings in the future. They have a particular color table that they all use and they want to be able to plot our drawings with their color table. Our drawings are a collection of work from different consultants, some of whom fail to convert their colors correctly before delivery to us. We just don't have time, sometimes, to send it back and wait for a corrected set of drawings.
    It would be nice to have a routine that could automatically convert drawings from one color table to another but, apparently, not enough people have a need for such a routine or it would already be out there somewhere.

  5. #15
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by John MacFall View Post
    At the end of a project I'm required to deliver a set of editable CAD drawings to the client, a large school district with lots of employees who may consult those drawings in the future. They have a particular color table that they all use and they want to be able to plot our drawings with their color table. Our drawings are a collection of work from different consultants, some of whom fail to convert their colors correctly before delivery to us. We just don't have time, sometimes, to send it back and wait for a corrected set of drawings.
    It would be nice to have a routine that could automatically convert drawings from one color table to another but, apparently, not enough people have a need for such a routine or it would already be out there somewhere.
    *cough* vlax-for + cond combo *cough*

    Code:
    (defun c:MyLayerTrans ( / *error* flag oLayer layerColor)
      (princ "\rMY LAYER TRANSLATE ") 
      (vl-load-com)
     
      (defun *error*  (msg)
        (cond
          ((not msg))                                                       ; Normal exit
          ((member msg '("Function cancelled" "quit / exit abort")))        ; <esc> or (quit)
          ((princ (strcat "\n** Error: " msg " ** "))))                     ; Fatal error, display it
        (and flag (not (vla-endundomark *activeDoc*)))
        (princ))
     
      (and (not (vla-startundomark
                  (cond (*activeDoc*)
                        ((setq *activeDoc*
                                (vla-get-activedocument
                                  (vlax-get-acad-object)))))))
           (setq flag T))
      (terpri)
      (prompt "\nWorking, please wait... ")
      (vlax-for oLayer (vla-get-layers *activeDoc*)
        (vla-put-color
          oLayer
          (cond ((= 1 (setq layerColor (vla-get-color oLayer)))
                 <AnotherColor1>)
                ((= 2 layerColor)
                 <AnotherColor2>)
                ;; <- Additional filters go here
                (T layerColor))))
      (princ "Done! ")
      (vla-endundomark *activeDoc*)
      (princ))
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  6. #16
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    but bill the sub who submitted incorrect colors for the time it takes to manually correct their drawings to client standards. (Using client standards was part of the subcontractor agreement wasn't it? if not, make sure it gets in for the next one.)

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    but bill the sub who submitted incorrect colors for the time it takes to manually correct their drawings to client standards. (Using client standards was part of the subcontractor agreement wasn't it? if not, make sure it gets in for the next one.)
    While I agree that the consultants should be backcharged but it's usually a matter of time more than money at the end of the job. The offending consultants usually will offer to make the change themselves but, unfortunately, I'm near deadline time. It's an age-old problem; I'm just trying to come up with something that could make the change "push-button" easy.

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by RenderMan View Post
    *cough* vlax-for + cond combo *cough*

    Code:
    (defun c:MyLayerTrans ( / *error* flag oLayer layerColor)
      (princ "\rMY LAYER TRANSLATE ") 
      (vl-load-com)
     
      (defun *error*  (msg)
        (cond
          ((not msg))                                                       ; Normal exit
          ((member msg '("Function cancelled" "quit / exit abort")))        ; <esc> or (quit)
          ((princ (strcat "\n** Error: " msg " ** "))))                     ; Fatal error, display it
        (and flag (not (vla-endundomark *activeDoc*)))
        (princ))
     
      (and (not (vla-startundomark
                  (cond (*activeDoc*)
                        ((setq *activeDoc*
                                (vla-get-activedocument
                                  (vlax-get-acad-object)))))))
           (setq flag T))
      (terpri)
      (prompt "\nWorking, please wait... ")
      (vlax-for oLayer (vla-get-layers *activeDoc*)
        (vla-put-color
          oLayer
          (cond ((= 1 (setq layerColor (vla-get-color oLayer)))
                 <AnotherColor1>)
                ((= 2 layerColor)
                 <AnotherColor2>)
                ;; <- Additional filters go here
                (T layerColor))))
      (princ "Done! ")
      (vla-endundomark *activeDoc*)
      (princ))
    RenderMan, I can't tell you how much I appreciate this. Thank you.

  9. #19
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Quote Originally Posted by John MacFall View Post
    RenderMan, I can't tell you how much I appreciate this. Thank you.
    Your welcome.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  10. #20
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-06
    Posts
    56
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Changes to Standard Layer Colors

    Can't you just mash the top of the color column in the layer manager and sort by color....?

    Then all you'd have to do is click the first one, hold shift...click the last one....and click one color box to change them all....

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-10-06, 08:06 PM
  2. standard colors?
    By mhartmann in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 04:46 PM
  3. LISP to change layer colors to random colors
    By mtubbs in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-04-27, 05:39 AM
  4. Compare layer colors to pantone colors
    By gandre in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-11-18, 01:32 PM
  5. layer colors
    By karen.perez in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-01-20, 04:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •