See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Void visibility as a parameter?

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    121


    Default Void visibility as a parameter?

    In a complex parametric family, I'd like to have a parameter to control whether a void is "visible" and cuts an object, or is "invisible" and doesn't cut. Normal objects have the ability to have their visibility turned on and off as a type or instance parameter, but it doesn't appear that voids do.

    I've seen some people establish parameters to move voids out of the way to effectively turn them off, but this seems like a brutish way of solving the problem.

    Thanks,
    James

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,046


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    I would do it like in the attached family. I used a "Not Cut" yes/no parameter, a Cut Depth "input" parameter (doesn't directly control the model), and another parameter called "d" which actually controls the void cut depth based on an If statement, referencing the first 2 parameters.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    121


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    Quote Originally Posted by patricks View Post
    I would do it like in the attached family. I used a "Not Cut" yes/no parameter, a Cut Depth "input" parameter (doesn't directly control the model), and another parameter called "d" which actually controls the void cut depth based on an If statement, referencing the first 2 parameters.
    i just looked at your file and I'm not sure what the "Not Cut" parameter is attached to. I see it works, but I'm not sure how...

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,738


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    Quote Originally Posted by jameswest77 View Post
    I've seen some people establish parameters to move voids out of the way to effectively turn them off, but this seems like a brutish way of solving the problem.
    It might seem brutish but that's the only way to do it. Think of it this way, you can't hide something that is nothing

    The Not Cut parameter in Patricks example actually defines the depth of the void (parameter d) so it either cuts or doesn't cut the host.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    121


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    ah, i see, you're controlling the void visibility by adjusting it's dimensions. Neat trick, similar to moving it out of the way, but still a more complicated solution that just turning the void on or off.

    If this can't be done, I wonder why such functionality doesn't exist?

    And yes, I can imagine turning off a void, because it's a real object, regardless of whether it's visible or not. I can select it, it's a real thing.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Limbatus's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-04
    Location
    Gamehendge
    Posts
    281


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    I have done this by creating a plug extrusion for my "Not Visible" Condition. the plug can go on an on/off parameter no problem. I made a series of SubZ fridges with a window/solid door this way.

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,046


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    Yes the Not Cut check box really just gives the user a quick way to change the void to cutting or not cutting the object, instead of having to change the cut depth to 0 manually.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  8. #8
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    The other way to do this is to place a dimension to the void, that is something like void location. and then a formula that says if void = x then offset = x Basically move the void in and out of the object you are cutting.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  9. #9
    100 Club jpolding's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Southwestern Ontario
    Posts
    198


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    Thank you Patricks. Although I would like a visibility parameter for voids your solution worked like a charm.
    Jay Polding
    Toronto Blue Jay

    Ontario Users Group Blog: http://orug.ca
    My Revit Blog: http://revit.blogspot.com/

  10. #10
    Member russell.eckstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Location
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Posts
    32


    Default Re: Void visibility as a parameter?

    In 2012 there is an option to select the extrusion boundary whilst editing the extrusion and selecting visibility along with parameters. However, it does not work the way I want, or it is over my head.
    I know enough to be dangerous.

    The ship of failure floats on a sea of excuses.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Void Visibility Parameter in Family
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-11-29, 05:41 AM
  2. Void visibility in this specific family
    By let4mi in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-11-30, 04:53 PM
  3. Turn Void Visibility On and Off
    By Scott Hopkins in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-03-08, 12:17 AM
  4. Void affecting family visibility
    By woethesinner in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-27, 09:01 PM
  5. Void and Topo Visibility
    By funkman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2004-04-07, 10:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •