See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: NEC clearances and clash detection

Login to Give a bone

Default NEC clearances and clash detection

I'm looking to add NEC clearances to electrical families so that any interferences can be detected by Revit. Do I have to just add geometry that represents clearances or is there a way to do this through parameters. I'm really new to Revit and am trying to get all this figured out before we actually begin any project work.

Thanks.

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: NEC clearances and clash detection

i've built the clearances into my panel families. it's a cube (transparent cyan, with a dashed outline, so it looks like glass in 3D) the size of the front of the panel, with a depth parameter, default 3', but you can change it. there is also a cube the size of the top of the panel that goes up. i don't remember the formula, but got it to go up to 10'AFF, you can also change it's height, or stretch it in section, up to deck. you should make these on a sub-category that other disciplines can turn off. you can also interference check the clearances, since they're a physical entity, against ducts, pipes, etc.
    Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images

Login to Give a bone

Thanks for the help Mike. I'll let you know how I faired.

Russ

Login to Give a bone

I found it helpful to add a ClearanceWidth parameter that is controlled by this statement (width refers to the physical width of the panel):
    if(Width > 2' 6", Width, 2' 6")

Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by mhartmann View Post