Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Duct Size Units

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    35
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Duct Size Units

    I am using Revit MEP 2011. When I tag a particular duct, the default setting is that it expresses this number with the inch symol. For example, if the duct is 16 inches wide and 10 inches high, it will read as such:

    16" x 10"

    My office is slowly converting from AutoCAD to Revit, and our office standard requires that the duct size should be expresses without the inch symbol as such:

    16 x 10

    Is there a way to accomplish this? I had a similar problem with CFM values for diffusers (we use, for example "100", and the default setting is to read "100 CFM"). But I did mess around with the units menu and fix this, however I am still having trouble with the duct size units. Appreciate any help

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Jrobker's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    11,000 feet atop a chute
    Posts
    974
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    There are a couple of ways to do this.
    Go to units (global setting) for the CFM on/off
    Go to MS (Mechanical Settings) for the Diameter symbol on/off.
    JR

    "Keeping my view range hopeful."

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    35
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    I figured out the CFM problem in the past, but the diameter symbol for the duct size is not the problem, its the inch symbol (as in 8" x 6"). Sorry if I wasn't clear, but i would like the inch symbol to not be included in the sizing, just the numbers separated by the (x) symbol. In the global units menu for duct size, it doesn't offer an option to eliminate the inch units, (although it is able to do this for CFM units). Any suggestions? Thanks again

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-07
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    330
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    Go to Project Units, then HVAC Discipline, and change duct size to Decimal inches w/ zero decimal places and set units to "none". that should work.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    35
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    There it is! Thank you, i guess i didnt fiddle around with the settings enough

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    Sorry to bring this back up again. I've been searching around and I don't see anything about the Free Size param?

    I'd like to give our users the ability to choose from one tag between Size and Free Size. As far as I can tell, there is no way to edit the Units on the Free Size parameter. Either in the tag itself or within the Project Units.

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to gabecottam428011's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    236
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Duct Size Units

    The "Free Size" units seem to be controlled by the "Duct Lining Thickness" units.
    9-18-2012 2-56-33 PM.jpg
    Gabe Cottam . . . . Sr. AEC Application Engineer . . . . ProSoft

Similar Threads

  1. Why three duct connectors in fan powered terminal units?
    By tim99 in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-02-05, 02:43 AM
  2. Project Units - Pipe Size
    By phil.pleiss in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-09-21, 09:31 PM
  3. AMEP 09 Duct Size Help
    By ReachAndre in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-08-25, 03:24 PM
  4. duct size above 1000
    By Beancud in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-11-16, 07:05 AM
  5. Duct Size Tag Format Options
    By RevitNinja in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-08, 12:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •