Thread: Parametric Array Window Family

Login to Give a bone

Unhappy Parametric Array Window Family

Hello all! This is my first time posting in the forum after quietly using it a ton in the past to battle Revit woes...

I have been attempting to create a custom wood window family that uses arrays to allow it to be controlled parametrically in order to avoid having to create multiple families based on the number of windows needed in a particular instance. The family was created by nesting a generic model of an individual window unit into a wall based window family that is then used for the trim and mullions. The nested unit family is then arrayed and given parameters to do so. I believe the problems I'm having stems from my second array, which is made up of in place extrusions used to create the middle mullions of the family. Everything seemed to be going very smoothly until I finished inputting all the parameters and tested the family in elevation to find that the mullions were not flexing vertically with the rest of the family. After wrestling with that for a while and not getting anywhere, I moved on hoping to have some sort of epiphany later about it. The next problem was the clear mullion space parameter that I created, which was intended to allow us to flex the amount of space between windows based on structural needs (currently in the model, we are showing a 4 1/2" space for 3 studs). When I got to adjust that parameter there seems to be a ton of disconnect to the point that I'm throwing my hands up.

Any tips or advice would be HUGELY appreciated as I'm now at the point of being ready to scrap the whole idea, and build individual families from here on out, but feel like it's a shame if I can't get something more parametric to work using arrays.