Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Laptop for Civil 3D

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Laptop for Civil 3D

    Hi, im looking at getting an affordable laptop to run Civil 3D, without crashing on me. Looked at a laptop with the following specs :
    Dell Vostro 3750
    Processor : Intel Core i7-2670QM 2.20Ghz
    Display : 17.3in High Definition LED Display (1600X900) with anti-glare
    Palmrest : Fingerprint Reader Biometric
    Camera : Integrated 2.0 Mega Pixel Camera
    Memory : 4096MB (1x4096) 1333MHz DDR3 Dual Channel
    Hard Drive : 750GB Serial ATA (7.200 Rpm)
    Optical Drive : 8X DVD+/-RW Drive
    Power Supply : Inspiron 130W AC Adapter
    Battery : Primary 6-cell 48W/HR LI-ION
    Graphics : NVIDIA Geforce GT 525M with 1GB VRAM
    Wireless : South African Intel WiFi 1030 802.11 b/g/n/BT3.0 Combo
    Keyboard : Internal US/International Qwerty Keyboard
    Operating System : English Genuine Windows 7 SP1 Professional (64 BIT) with Recovery DVD
    3Yr Basic Warranty .


    Do you guys think this will be acceptable? Sure I can get an extra 4GB of ram cheap-cheap to add to it.
    Is there anything in a similar price class you can reccomend?

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,386
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Laptop for Civil 3D

    For Civil 3D go for 16 Gig of RAM.
    4 Gig is good for word processing.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    3,913
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Laptop for Civil 3D

    FWIW -

    You might not be able to afford retail, but check out the Dell Outlet for discounted hardware... Here's my work laptop configuration:

    Dell Precision M6600
    [Quad] Core i7 @ 2.30 Ghz
    16GB RAM
    NVIDIA Quadro 3000M, 2GB
    Windows 7, 64-Bit
    Dual +20" monitors at office, single 20" monitor at home
    Docks (one for office, and one for home)
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Autodesk Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop 2012 Civil 3d
    By jenniferchavez in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-02-21, 11:01 AM
  2. Se puede instalar civil 3D 2009 y civil 3D 2010 en un mismo Windows
    By wuari in forum Español - AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-11-22, 03:27 AM
  3. Incompatibilidade dos Estilos do Civil 2009 para o Civil 2008
    By werneckad in forum Português - AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Land Desktop / AutoCAD Map 3D
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-09-12, 07:25 PM
  4. Webcast for Civil Engineers: Introduction to AutoCAD Civil 3D 2008
    By Brogueira-CADptbr in forum Português - AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Land Desktop / AutoCAD Map 3D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-02-26, 10:34 PM
  5. Laptop / Notebook for Civil 3d
    By bpressnell in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-23, 12:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •