Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 1st floor to 2nd

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Location
    Tirana, Albania
    Posts
    3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default 1st floor to 2nd

    Hello,

    I am working on a multifunctional building, and so far i built 1st floor. The second floor is identical to the 1st one. I have a question, if it is possible to copy all the walls of the first floor to the second, since i have used some types of walls, and i didnt want to construct 'em from the beginning.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,535
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    You can select all the walls and copy them to the clipboard (CTRL+C) and then Paste > Aligned to Selected Levels and choose level 2.
    Before you do this I would suggest the following;
    1. Make sure you have a third level in your project and that the distance between level 1 and 2 is the same as the distance between level 2 and 3.
    2. Make sure the base constraint for all your level 1 walls are set to level 1 and top constraint are set to level 2
    This will ensure that all walls are associated with a level at the base and top and their height can be changed by changing the level datums.
    ____________________________
    Dimitri Harvalias LEED AP
    Summit BIM Consulting
    BIMblog.ca
    I was never just a CAD monkey, so I refuse to be a BIMpanzee!
    A BIM without the 'I' is just a BM - those in the medical profession know what that amounts to

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    This works well. The new second floor walls and windows do not show on the second floor plan. How can this be fixed?

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,535
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    Charlie,
    you'll need to be a little more specific. There are a number of reasons why wall might not be visible.
    ____________________________
    Dimitri Harvalias LEED AP
    Summit BIM Consulting
    BIMblog.ca
    I was never just a CAD monkey, so I refuse to be a BIMpanzee!
    A BIM without the 'I' is just a BM - those in the medical profession know what that amounts to

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,326
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    This is Revit - full 3D capability! You can copy in the z direction. Create a section. Pick an object and copy it UP. This is a simple example, but practice it and you will soon learn how to select multiple objects and copy them vertically.

    Another more complicated example:

    I was working on a 50 story tower. The service elevator ran straight up all 50 stories and stopped at every floor. I entered the elevator door and frame in the basement in a section view and arrayed it 50 times up. One command. 50 stories.

    Try this with windows in brick exterior walls. You'll use it a lot!
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    First I created a new project with the Construction Template. Then modified the levels for this building. Now I created a new exterior wall type and used this to draw the outside walls. Then windows and door were added. Interior walls were now added.
    I now selected the exterior walls and copied them to the clipboard and pasted them using the Aligned to Selected Levels option. These new walls show up in the 3D view but not the second floor plan.
    Please help.

  7. #7
    100 Club PijPiwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    173
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    In the construction template, Level 1 and level 2 have different phasing.
    Level 1 is set to Project Completion and all walls that you have created are in that phase. Level 2 is set to B10 – Superstructure phase which time-wise is before Project Completion phase. Another words, you can’t see your walls on Level 2, because they are not created yet. Either change wall phasing or phasing of the view.
    Check these tutorials:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b11z5OwZhWc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyQGbeWfb2Q

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,535
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    Nice pickup PijPiwo
    ____________________________
    Dimitri Harvalias LEED AP
    Summit BIM Consulting
    BIMblog.ca
    I was never just a CAD monkey, so I refuse to be a BIMpanzee!
    A BIM without the 'I' is just a BM - those in the medical profession know what that amounts to

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1st floor to 2nd

    Thank you, this works well.

Similar Threads

  1. Draw floor finishes using floor types, QUICKLY..
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-17, 09:20 AM
  2. lines below my floor to show grey in floor plan
    By sami in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-04-22, 08:50 PM
  3. Whats the easiest way to add a floor finish to a floor?
    By aaron_ramage in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 2010-03-22, 12:47 PM
  4. Mass Floor Schedules - Calculated Value with Floor Volume
    By dpollard909366 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-05-19, 11:20 PM
  5. Two out of Four Reference Planes are not visible in 2nd Floor and 3rd Floor
    By hutch_amit in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-07-14, 03:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •