Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to join lines between two junctions?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default how to join lines between two junctions?

    Wanna join lines between two junctions (where more than 2 lines intersect) into a single polyline. The command 'Pedit' cannot do it. Any ideas are welcome.

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    South Eastern US, exact location unknown
    Posts
    1,507
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: how to join lines between two junctions?

    Are the lines on the same plane (Z elevation) or 3d polylines? What steps are you taking? Can you post an example of the issue?
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,371
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: how to join lines between two junctions?

    A polyline cannot contain branches but, depending on the shape of the junction, it may be possible to cheat by breaking and joining.

    In the picture, the middle closed arrowhead "cannot" be a polyline but it is. The top version shows how.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,371
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: how to join lines between two junctions?

    Here's another way to look at it.
    A polyline vertex can contain only the endpoints of one or two segments but two non-adjacent vertices, and the segments between them, can occupy the same locations.
    In the picture, two vertices of the red polyline can be stretched to produce the cyan polyline which is a single object.
    More segments can be added to the left- and right-hand ends but not to the top and bottom ends.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: how to join lines between two junctions?

    Jmurphy, Many thanks. They are on the same plane. The following is an example.

    1.jpg

  6. #6
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    South Eastern US, exact location unknown
    Posts
    1,507
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: how to join lines between two junctions?

    Check the layers for each and make sure they are not a locked layer.
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

Similar Threads

  1. Join all lines in a drawing
    By elaurier in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-11-05, 02:27 PM
  2. How do I join lines?
    By ukdodger in forum AutoCAD 3D (2006 or below)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-11-10, 02:30 PM
  3. join all lines
    By rwbaker54 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-04-04, 06:23 PM
  4. Lines that Join w/o my permission
    By tiffany.amorgan in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-10-26, 12:14 PM
  5. Join Lines
    By nsinha73 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-10-09, 11:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •