Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 1 door 2 walls

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    15
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default 1 door 2 walls

    Hey,

    How do i solve this? I have a concrete wall (existing) and i put a dry wall in front of it (New construction). I want to place a door but the wood casement is placed like the picture below.
    9-04-2012 15-12-15.png

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,253
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    Try to 'Join' the walls together. If they are within an inch or two they should link together. This means that you won't have to place an opening in, or modify the profile of the gypsum wall.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,482
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    The door frame wrap will still wrap only the wall that its hosted to...

    You would need to create a custom door that would allow for extra wall thickness...
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones."

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    15
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    I knew the 'join' command and it doesn't work.

    are you having tips cdatechguy? i'm not familiar with family's(not yet )

    grtz.
    Werner

  5. #5
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,439
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    You will need to add a ref. plane in your door family that you have a dimension to called "interior furring width" or something like that, then base you frame and trim on that. Make it instance based if you have multiple wall thickinesses.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Project Coordinator | Director of Building Information Modeling

    HHCP.com

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    15
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    Thank already,

    But is it possible to explain me something more. I'm a beginner.
    I have adapt the family that when i change the dimensions, but it happens not automatic (other thickness) and when i flip the door it does not work.
    Perhaps there is a good tutorial to learn how 'family's works.

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,482
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    Personally, I think your going the wrong direction with the door type, as usually wraps apply with interior wood/steel studs... I could be wrong though, but all the exterior conditions that I have uses a butted frame... (see pic....ignore the fact its offset a little too much...need to fix that)

    But if you really want it to wrap, instead of using the wall reference planes for your frame, you essentially add another reference plane (what Scott said) to one side (or both) to allow for an exterior and interior finish. Base your frame width to those reference planes instead of to the wall.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones."

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    15
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    Thanks for the answers.

    I am going to start with this advice. And first learn to walk before i can run.
    I downloaded a family guide so i can understand the basic first.

    Grtz.

    Werner

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    259
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: 1 door 2 walls

    Have a look at the OOTB door family with external/internal reference planes added (as Scott explained) to control frame depth, for your quick reference.
    R
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Rahul Shah | Associate | Woods Bagot
    http://revitstickynotes.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Door cut through multiple walls
    By Ed Jobe in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-07-08, 03:55 PM
  2. Door with no walls
    By belinda.66428 in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-11-07, 11:54 PM
  3. 3 Walls, 1 Door
    By independentdrafting in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-09-04, 07:17 AM
  4. door in curtain walls
    By Max Lloyd in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-05-05, 04:41 PM
  5. Door not cutting through walls
    By Griff in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-02-03, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •