See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: completely empty dimstyle

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    in the middle of nowhere
    Posts
    23
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default completely empty dimstyle

    has anyone ever seen this? all my options are set up to the standard, but nothing displays.... weird.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    3,658
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    post the drawing so we can see what's going on under the covers, so to speak
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    in the middle of nowhere
    Posts
    23
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    so here's what i've got... sry it took so long, i had to go back thru the 264 contractor files to find it, since i didn't write the file name down the first time- not making that mistake again- & of course it was about the 262nd file i opened.... along the way i did find some other odd ones that i included....

    the weirdest thing happened though, as i was clearing out the drawings so i could post them (without getting in trouble) the dims started working again... sorta... i cleared everything out, not there... renamed the layers with generic numbers, poof! they came back!

    the other things are weird too.... no clue what's happening with these

    (AUGIexample1 is the original one i pulled the screenshot from)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,392
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    AUGIexample1 - VIEWPORT is the current layer but it's switched OFF.
    Change current layer or set VIEWPORT layer ON - try setting it to ON and to NOPLOT.

    AUGIexample2 - current layer is DEFPOINTS - do not use this layer for drawing.
    Acad creates it and manages it.

    AUGIexample3 - don't see a problem, what's supposed to be wrong with it?
    Last edited by jaberwok; 2012-04-13 at 10:59 PM.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,493
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    AUGIexample1 - VIEWPORT is the current layer but it's switched OFF.
    Change current layer or set VIEWPORT layer ON - try setting it to ON and to NOPLOT.
    X1

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    AUGIexample2 - current layer is DEFPOINTS - do not use this layer for drawing.
    Acad creates it and manages it.
    My "favorite" pet gripe! No matter how many times I try and tell the guys at work: "Never, ever even think of that layer ... take it out of your mind ... it's radio-active! It WILL DESTROY your drawing!!!" It still crops up and bites us. I suppose with 100-200 employees it's kind of impossible to police everyone all the time.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time arshiel88's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Off the Grid
    Posts
    559
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    The problem with AUGIexample1.dwg is that the current layer is Off, that's why there's no dimension showing in the Dim Style.

    in AUGIexample2.dwg, the problem is in the text style "STD35E" that is being used by the Standard Dim Style. I unchecked the "Use big font" and everything is fine.

    AUGIexample3.dwg, same with AUGIexample1.dwg. Current layer is Off.

    Shielbern Bolalin
    Architectural 3D Renderer
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    “A clever person solves a problem. A wise person avoids it.”

    1879-1955

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    in the middle of nowhere
    Posts
    23
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    super huge thanks everyone! i was just telling some of my family that whoever did these drawings should have their hands slapped. in school, we never went over what to do when someone is stupid, which seems like the case for most of the drawings i'm dealing with right now. and defpoints & viewports, i just assume that anyone who touches cad already knows what these are for & what does not go on those layers; clearly, they don't

    ...now on to fix all the other problems...

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,493
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: completely empty dimstyle

    The most useful tool in any drawing office:
    stupid-stick.gif
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. Completely hiding Level 1
    By mrdavie in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-04-01, 11:14 PM
  2. Something completely different
    By ctohill in forum AutoCAD Gallery
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-08-22, 02:42 PM
  3. Legend not printing completely
    By neels in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-03-28, 02:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •