Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: titleblock template update

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default titleblock template update

    I find titleblock template will not update automate when sheet is alreday created, so ,how to handle this problem?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    3,505
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: titleblock template update

    co you describe the steps you are using? from the description I am not understanding haht you are doing, or what you need to happen. Possibly you are mis-using the word 'template' to mean something other than a DWT?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: titleblock template update

    ok,when I build sheet system,I already set a titleblock template file(*.dwt),and already creet sheet ,but if in this time,I need change my titleblock template file a little bit,for example, I need add a new field in my titleblock template file(*.dwt),but when I change the titleblock template file(*.dwt),then you open again the sheet file you already creat before, you can see your titleblock in this sheet file not changed,It`s old one. not update ,you must delete the sheet and make new sheet, then you can see titleblock update.
    did I make myself clear?

  4. #4
    100 Club StDoodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Posts
    158
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: titleblock template update

    Like other blocks, a titleblock will stick with its "current" definition. If you paste a block named "TB" into a file that already has a block named "TB", the pasted entity takes on the attributes of the existing block "TB." Also... if you're not even going that far, of course it won't work! Modifying a template does not automatically update files based on that template, it only affects new files created from it. To automatically "sync" updates, you'd need to XREF. If you were doing the former (pasting an existing block), you can instead go to "Design Center" (adcenter on CLI), find the template file, find the block, and then right-click "Redefine." Sadly, that isn't always enough when it comes to attributes; you may need to erase the existing titleblock and re-insert it.

Similar Threads

  1. Titleblock Update
    By dhendrickson in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-05-25, 06:26 PM
  2. Update Titleblock in sheet set
    By dzatto in forum Project Navigator
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-12-10, 02:33 PM
  3. Titleblock template trouble (Revit 2009)
    By travis.mcknight in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-05-21, 07:53 PM
  4. Automatic Update of Titleblock Revision Text
    By gapple in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2005-11-05, 12:47 AM
  5. Linked .dwg File in Titleblock Template
    By Mark James in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2005-06-29, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •