Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sketchup to 3D Max

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Sketchup to 3D Max

    Hi sorry for my ignorance I am newbie. I wanted to be able to import a Sketchup model into 3d Max. Is this possible? I have a shipping container conversion in SKP format and I have had no luck. If youhave minute can you try and do the same? I have attached a link http://www.rubysketch.com/models/ecoshell to where I got the model from.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Norton_cad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-05
    Location
    Bardwell Valley, Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    487
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Sketchup to 3D Max

    Saveas a DWG format, open in Acad, and export as a 3D Max.
    Ohm's Law - Electricity follows the path of least resistance.

    Regards,

    Mark Norton,

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Sketchup to 3D Max

    Quote Originally Posted by Norton_cad View Post
    Saveas a DWG format, open in Acad, and export as a 3D Max.
    Thanks Norton. I'll give it a go

  4. #4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Sketchup to 3D Max

    If I remember correctly 3Ds Max (propably from version 2012) can import Sketchup scenes directly.

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-10
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Sketchup to 3D Max

    Quote Originally Posted by trzmielak312845 View Post
    If I remember correctly 3Ds Max (propably from version 2012) can import Sketchup scenes directly.
    I'm totally agree with you.You'r 100% good here that 3Ds Max (propably from edition 2012) can transfer Sketchup scenarios straight.Its dead easy and pretty difficult to go wrong.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    20
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Sketchup to 3D Max

    If you have a subscription to max, the new update has a feature called the Connection Extension for Max 2010. Along with other interop features, Max can now import *.skp files.
    It is also very strategic for Autodesk because now if you have Max 2010, you don't even need to purchase SketchUp Pro to export the 3D model to a universal file format. Max can import the plain .skp file.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone Using SketchUp?
    By rookwood in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2012-04-26, 08:35 PM
  2. Sketchup 7
    By rboaz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-23, 03:48 PM
  3. Sketchup to ADT
    By psukphisit in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-26, 07:15 PM
  4. Sketchup
    By sjsl in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-07-02, 08:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •