Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AutoCad WS and datasampling on site

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question AutoCad WS and datasampling on site

    Hello all,

    This is my first post on this forum. Nice to meet all of you. My name is Harrie Munnik, and I am working with Adviesbureau Munnik (fire safety engineering). English is not my native language, so I hope I can myself understandable.

    I have a question regarding working with AutoCad WS on a tablet. Our compagny does a lot of inspections in existing buildings. Most of the buildings have drawings in AutoCad. During these audits the auditors have large paper drawings (A0 format), a camera, paper, a pen and sometimes other tools to do the inspections.

    For example:
    We see a problem in a building (wrong materieal used). I have to take a note on my drawing, make a picture with my camera, write additional information, take note of the number of the picture to connect it to a position, add more information on the solution of the problem. After doing the inspection I need to get the pictures of the camera, place them into a document, add all the information of the problems, positions solutions, etc in a document for my costumer. I would like to combine this functionalities inside a tablet application. Are there addons for AutoCad WS or something simular, so that doing these inspections could be (more) automated. Using AutoCad WS and a template for office already is making the work more automated, but I am curious of there are more pro solutions for this task.

    Kind regards,



    Harrie Munnik

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,776
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCad WS and datasampling on site

    Welcome to AUGI forums, Harrie! Great to have you here.

    I have not used any add-ons for this, as I just got a tablet myself and have only used AutoCAD WS. And, being as I am the only one using it yet, a larger, inter-connected, solution isn't something on the horizon for us.

    I will suggest that maybe you look at the capabilities of Vela Systems, only because I have a friend who has told me (see article here) that is how his company tracks changes and different types of notes in the field.

    Here's a quote:
    Clayco employees use Vela Mobile iPad for jobsite information tracking, drawing markups, access to construction sets, RFI tracking, punch lists, safety issues, and daily issues. Before using this app, they marked up paper forms, which later had to be transferred manually into records back at the office.
    I do look forward to seeing if other members of this forum have more suggestions or experience with other applications, because I would like to know also.
    Melanie Perry @MistresDorkness
    Archibus System Administrator
    Technical Editor
    not all who wander are lost
    (missing MEP/FP and Revit)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCad WS and datasampling on site

    Thank you for your fast reply. I am investigating the Vela Systems. The ideas are simular. It looks a bit that this is a new area. I have looked in many different ways now and I have seen some home made apps, but not a pro solution. Thank you for the hint!

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,776
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCad WS and datasampling on site

    Not a problem, it's only pure chance that I happened to find out about that one myself.

    I'm guessing you're right that there may not be much available for pro solutions at this point. I wonder if that will change as jobsite tablets become ubiquitous.
    Melanie Perry @MistresDorkness
    Archibus System Administrator
    Technical Editor
    not all who wander are lost
    (missing MEP/FP and Revit)

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad site plan into 3ds Max.....problems
    By jritterw in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-01-08, 04:43 PM
  2. AutoCad flyby for web-site
    By U.Rackharrow in forum Skunk Werx Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-16, 09:50 PM
  3. Export vers un plan de site Autocad
    By atelierba in forum Revit Architecture - Questions fréquentes (lecture seule)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-02-06, 05:54 PM
  4. Autocad site to revit
    By richelleharp in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-01-05, 12:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •