Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Void in window family

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Void in window family

    How do I cut out the brick or stone veneer to a different height the the sheathing/studs/gyp of a wall? Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    888
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Void in window family

    Hi, John. Welcome on your first post. As you've probably figured out, window families do not allow there to be an opening and a void cutting the host (wall). One solution could be a face-based generic model (converted to the window category) with a void cutting what you want. Attached is a family with a void in the rough shape you want. I made it with one void, but if you wanted to control the window opening and the lintel void separately, you could make them two voids. I set up some basic parameters, too, but again, these could be changed to meet your specific needs.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    100 Club bulletproofdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    182
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Void in window family

    Or you could replace the default 'opening' with as many voids in as many shapes as you like

  4. #4
    100 Club Devin_82's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    107
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Void in window family

    Quote Originally Posted by bulletproofdesign View Post
    Or you could replace the default 'opening' with as many voids in as many shapes as you like
    I have started to go this route but have come across one little problem. Basically, if you have two walls running parallel that touch each other and you join the geometry, a window with voids instead of an opening will only cut its host wall, it will not cut the additional wall that has been joined to it. At least that has been my recent experience. It is a pretty specific issue, but worth mentioning I think. An example would be an exterior wall with a furring strip that doesn't run the full length or height of the wall. You could probably create a wall type that could include both, but its easier to do it with two walls.

    Anyway, like I said I use the void process, but I have begun integrating the nested void approach in conjunction with the opening because it seems to be more "natural" to Revit and doesn't cause the one problem I have encountered so far.

Similar Threads

  1. Use Face Based Void Family to Cut Host Beam Family?
    By matt.fleming in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-05-28, 01:53 AM
  2. Wrapped material in void/window family
    By chad.gore in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-12-27, 04:28 AM
  3. Wrapped material in void/window family
    By chad.gore in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-12-20, 09:04 PM
  4. Nest a void in a window family.
    By Paul P. in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-07-26, 07:54 PM
  5. Opening or Void in a Window family?
    By Garn in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-10-14, 06:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •