Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: convert 2012 to 2011?

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,308
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default convert 2012 to 2011?

    One of our consultants is new to Revit, so new that 2012 is the first and only version they have. For this project, we are still in 2011.

    We were sent a 2012 file. I loaded it in 2012 and looked in vain for a 'save as 2011'.

    Is there a way to convert?, or, is the file format interchangeable? or, am I outta luck?
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,721
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: convert 2012 to 2011?

    Nope, you are out of luck.
    Revit was and always will be unable to go backwards. ie not backwards compatible.
    You're SOL. The only thing you can do is have them export to cad and try to use that as a back ground for your plans.
    Or you could upgrade to 2012.
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,253
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: convert 2012 to 2011?

    Mike,

    Is there a client/consultant requirement for it to be in 2011? Who is the lead (contract holder) for your project? What is in the contract for required deliverables? Are you not on subscription?

    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,308
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: convert 2012 to 2011?

    The consultant is new to a project that's been on and off for almost two years now. That's how it got started in 2011. We are on subscription and I pointed out that I did load it into 2012. However, we are not the lead Architect and the lead architect wants 2011.

    I know about the Penn State BIM Execution Plan, and we are creating one for a very big project we are just starting up, but this project is small and the lead architect didn't create one.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,253
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: convert 2012 to 2011?

    Okay, so who holds the contract with this consultant? Is it your firm or the lead Architect? In the sub-contractor's contract, does it spell out what software they're required to use? This is something that we're trying to alert to management. If we hold the contract, we need to decide what software consultants are required to provide to us.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,621
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: convert 2012 to 2011?

    Quote Originally Posted by jsteinhauer View Post
    Okay, so who holds the contract with this consultant? Is it your firm or the lead Architect? In the sub-contractor's contract, does it spell out what software they're required to use? This is something that we're trying to alert to management. If we hold the contract, we need to decide what software consultants are required to provide to us.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    ~nodding~ That is one thing in our (client side) contract requirements. I don't dictate who on each project is 'in charge of' or ultimately responsible for the turnover of the design documents, because that can vary by project (sometimes archie, sometimes gc, sometime engineer, depending on scope and team). But, I do specify that, when the team is using BIM, version is to be jointly determined at the start of the project, and put down in writing, no upgrades to take place to the model without written consent of all working on it.
    Melanie Perry @MistresDorkness
    Archibus System Administrator
    Technical Editor
    not all who wander are lost
    (missing MEP/FP and Revit)

Similar Threads

  1. .NWC Export 2011 & 2012
    By chris4455 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-12-28, 10:39 PM
  2. Revit MEP 2011 to 2012
    By scraven in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-10-28, 03:18 PM
  3. Dual Installation 2011/2012
    By MikeJarosz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-10-10, 07:44 PM
  4. Going from 2011 to 2012
    By jspartz in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-09-21, 10:55 AM
  5. convert displacement map?? in 3ds max design 2011
    By vorschau275365 in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-04-04, 05:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •