Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Incomplete rendering of materials

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,326
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Incomplete rendering of materials

    Rendering23.jpg

    I created a family for the Kohler Torq kitchen faucet in R2012. I assigned polished chrome as a material to all the extrusions. When I render it in high resolution (screen), some of it renders as chrome and some of it remains a dull, unreflective gray. I have checked the family several times now.

    Any idea what I could be doing wrong?
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to mthurnauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-11
    Location
    Cincinnati, formerly Chicago
    Posts
    400
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Incomplete rendering of materials

    Have you tried rendering from a slightly different vantage point? I almost looks like it might be chrome and is just reflecting different surroundings. Maybe swing to the opposite corner and see what you get. IN the family, do you have the objects joined? If so, they should all inherit the same material. The only other thought is that the surfaces were overridden with a different material by painting them. Maybe paint them back to by category and redo it.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,326
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Incomplete rendering of materials

    AHA!!!!! JOINED

    I didn't think of that one. Otherwise, I did try changing the view in the hope that it would reflect other parts of the room.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,326
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Incomplete rendering of materials

    I joined all the extrusions. Then I rechecked the materials parameter, the gray extrusions were "default" instead of "by category". Those two changes worked.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

Similar Threads

  1. rendering materials
    By amaser in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Pipes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-03-04, 03:48 PM
  2. Assign rendering materials to revit materials?
    By dtownsend in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2007-05-04, 04:03 PM
  3. Assign rendering materials to revit materials?
    By dtownsend in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2007-05-03, 09:20 PM
  4. Rendering materials
    By Jokerman9000 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-07-05, 03:23 PM
  5. Need some help with Rendering and Materials
    By jakedanceparty in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-02-03, 11:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •