Thread: Teaching CAD Online - How do you do it?

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Question Teaching CAD Online - How do you do it?

Hi all.

I develop and facilitate online CAD courses for my Community College and I am looking for others who do or have done the same. What have your experiences been? What do you feel is lacking in your courses and how could you overcome those issues?

I want to improve my courses becasue I feel they are too one-sided as far as communication is concerned. Virtually the students follow a text and email me their completed assignments. This seems to work for most of the students but as an experience face-to-face instructor I think it could be better.

How do you do it?

Regards.

Kirby

Kirby Reycraft, LEED AP
    Faculty -- Civil & Building Technologies | Nova Scotia Community College
    AutoCAD Certified Professional | Autodesk Revit Architecture Certified Professional
    Last edited by Wanderer; 2015-10-14 at 10:26 PM. Reason: new users are to be restricted from hyperlinks. please use sig line so as not confuse readers.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Teaching CAD Online - How do you do it?

Quote Originally Posted by kirby.reycraft View Post
    I want to improve my courses because I feel they are too one-sided as far as communication is concerned. Virtually the students follow a text and email me their completed assignments. This seems to work for most of the students but as an experience face-to-face instructor I think it could be better.
    I haven't taught any online courses, but, I have taken half of my undergrad and graduate courses online.

Most of the classes just use Blackboard online classroom for uploading of articles, assignments and discussion groups to answer questions between instructor and students so everyone can see. One of my favorite instructors tended to use a lot of narrated PowerPoints, which are fairly easy to make.
    ScreenShot076.jpg