Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

  1. #1
    Aussie Revit Moderator Mr Spot's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,115
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    All of a sudden some of our models when exporting to NWC are going into a view regeneration loop. That is, we chose export to NWC from a particular 3D view, all other views are closed, then the export takes forever (literally it doesn't finish) to generate.

    Revit just goes into this endless loop regenerating all the floor plan views which should have no association at all to the Navisworks export? If we delete all the plan views it exports fine, yet some of our files which are setup very similar also seem to export fine. We are trying to determine the cause so we can work around it.

    Has anyone else experienced this bizarre behaviour with Revit 2013?
    Chris Price
    Co-Founder/BIM Manager/Product Designer
    Xrev Pty Ltd

    Revit Rants BLOG

  2. #2
    Aussie Revit Moderator Mr Spot's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,115
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    Looks like the route cause is Keynotes!! For some reason having keynotes in the file screws the Navisworks export. Deleting all the keynotes eliminates the problem... Autodesk why?
    Chris Price
    Co-Founder/BIM Manager/Product Designer
    Xrev Pty Ltd

    Revit Rants BLOG

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Posts
    48
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    Hi Chris,

    Would it be possible to get a copy of the project (and the steps needed) to cause the problem?

    Sincerely,
    Anna Oscarson
    QA Analyst
    Autodesk, Inc.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    We experience a similar issue, but when doing typical operations such as adding tags to views. I am experiencing this typically in sheets full of elevation views. This morning, when trying to open an interior elevation sheet it had to regenerate what seemed to be all views on the sheet. When I go into one of the views, and make a change, such as adjusting the view range, it seems like it has to generate through all the views on the sheet - no matter how unrelated.
    We did not have this issue while in Revit 2012. About 4 months ago we upgraded to Revit 2013 and Revit Server 2013, and that's when we started noticing this problem.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Posts
    3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Spot View Post
    Looks like the route cause is Keynotes!! For some reason having keynotes in the file screws the Navisworks export. Deleting all the keynotes eliminates the problem... Autodesk why?
    Well that wont work out too well deleting al lthe keyed notes... do you just do that before u export and then undo the operation? also I have to agree "Autodesk Why????)

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-04
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    seems like it would be less obtrusive if you deleted the keynotes in a detached file that you are only using to export your Navisworks views from.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-11
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    Hi, experiencing the same issue here.
    How do you delete all keynote files ?

    It seems like Navisworks allows to link Revit file now.. so might not need exports anymore

  8. #8
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    I had the exact same problem with views regenerating after exporting a 3d view to navisworks. Deleting keynotes did nothing for me. However, I was able to export to navisworks after I deleted all of my views (except my 3d export view).

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-01
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Post Re: Exporting to Navisworks - Plan views regenerating?

    We have been experiencing the same issues with the exporting of the Navis files. It started with just one Revit 2013 project having this issue. We are now working on a second project that has the same issue in Revit 2014.

    Has anyone found the solution to this issue?

    I have included my journal file for your use.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Project regenerating all views with any action
    By rstavares in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-10-25, 06:05 PM
  2. Navisworks Exporting
    By stevens.b in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-02-10, 09:43 PM
  3. Exporting an Elipse to Navisworks
    By raghavendra.bhat in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-09-26, 04:03 AM
  4. Navisworks 64-bit not exporting from Acad '09
    By mvecchione in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-06-02, 07:13 PM
  5. views not regenerating
    By willc in forum ACA General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-04-12, 11:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •