Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to save the family to library that act as them

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default How to save the family to library that act as them

    HI i create the column in family and i want to save it to library or use it as the column in my project but its impossible. i only could use load to project or save the family and when i use it in my project the revit know that item as the family not column or anything else i realy appreciate if someone help me out

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    888
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to save the family to library that act as them

    I'm not sure I understand... did you create an In-Place family and you're having trouble using and saving it?
    Or did you create a column in the family editor?
    If I (or somebody else) can understand your problem, I'm sure we can point you in the right direction.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to save the family to library that act as them

    yes i create in family editor i use new/family/metric column/
    then i create my column and at the end i want to save it to use my item for the futher as column again but i dont know how.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to save the family to library that act as them

    no one know that

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    888
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to save the family to library that act as them

    I think the problem is that this seems like basic Revit use, so we're confused why it is a problem. Once you've created your column family, save it wherever you want. If you have the family open and a project open, you can choose the "Load Family" command and it will load the column into the project. Then when you start placing columns, you will be able to choose your new column family.
    (If you don't have the family, you're just working in a project, you can go Inser tab > Load Family... then browse to where you saved the family and load it. Place it as before.)

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to rbcameron1's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    245
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to save the family to library that act as them

    I ran into this conundrum last week. Its kind of stupid and misleading. Are you creating a "Column" family or a "Structural Columns" family. Essentially one difference is that you can insert a particular column as a "component" or from the "column"/structural/architectural" pulldown icon. It sounds like farshadvamp is trying to use the column icon since it makes sense but it was not created as a structural/architectural column, however I bet if the component icon was used, the family that was made would pop into the project.
    Attached is an example of what you want to use (generic concrete column, sorry if you need a steel W type column) Load this into your project, select column and it will work. Modify it as needed, even if its not what you need, its usable.

    RB Cameron
    View my "profile" for more information.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    RB Cameron, AIA, LEED AP, EDAC
    BIM Coordinator - VDC Coordinator - Visualization Artist
    Download Healthcare Revit Models

Similar Threads

  1. Central Detail Library / save view options
    By amara in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-01-30, 06:22 PM
  2. Save to Library --> Save Views...
    By terilw in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-07-29, 08:39 PM
  3. SAVE TO LIBRARY ERROR
    By kaseym in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-06, 05:30 PM
  4. "Save Loaded Family to Library" So What?
    By narlee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-05-07, 03:12 AM
  5. Save family to library doesn't show all choices?
    By david@stearnsarchitecture in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-10-20, 11:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •