Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Hey guys, Well I have just bought a laptop (Lenovo Yoga 3). Mostly because of what it does as a portable device etc.
    This is not my main machine. However I installed a BSSU. Revit works great so far. I have been able to open some files with several links, and thanks to the SSD, they open and upgrade quite rapidly.

    Windows 8 seems to pretty stable at first glance. ACAD and inventor are also working great. While these applications may not be officially supported in win8 they do work on my account.

    It would like this thread to be used to discuss potential issues etc.

    My computer is a touchscreen, and while no possible at the moment, it would be nice to be able to rotate model in the 3D view with my fingers and maybe even zoom and pan. I don't think the mouse will be replaced - yet.

    As a side note what are your thoughts on the new machines with touch screens?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Posts
    13
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    I have been running Revit 2012 and 2013 on Windows 8 for about a week or so now and all has seemed ok, for the most part. Couple issues I have noticed but not 100% sure if they are Windows 8 issues.

    1. Section markers that are normally blue on Revit under Windows 7 are now Orange (see section.jpg)

    2. I have beams at level +15'-0", +14'-0" & +13'-0". No matter how I set the view range, I cannot select the +13'-0" beams.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Quote Originally Posted by mjm.158454 View Post
    I have been running Revit 2012 and 2013 on Windows 8 for about a week or so now and all has seemed ok, for the most part. Couple issues I have noticed but not 100% sure if they are Windows 8 issues.

    1. Section markers that are normally blue on Revit under Windows 7 are now Orange (see section.jpg)

    2. I have beams at level +15'-0", +14'-0" & +13'-0". No matter how I set the view range, I cannot select the +13'-0" beams.
    Weird. I am not having the section be orange, but then again I don't invert my workspace. Ill test later and post my findings.
    I am running Revit on both Window 8 and Windows 8 Pro.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    hi I did some quick testing on my computers and everything looks normal both on the white background and inverted. I hope this helps.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to rbcameron1's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    274
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    I've talked with quite a few technology-savvy architects over the past few months and they are not inclined to upgrade to Windows 8 for all the right reasons. It just isn't tested well enough yet. I also talked to our IT support and they mention it may be 1 or 2 releases before Revit is a guaranteed winner on W8.
    I have two touchscreens and I have to disable the TabletInputService under the services tab in Task Manager for revit 2012 to not crash while opening the material editor. Other than that, it was kind of a waste of money to get touchscreens. (Acer T231H - 23" LED 1080p)
    RB Cameron, AIA, LEED AP, EDAC
    BIM Coordinator - VDC Coordinator - Visualization Artist
    Download Healthcare Revit Models

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    I don't know, been running it for a few weeks W/ worksharing. I was also running 2011 to build some families.
    no problems at all.

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-06
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Quote Originally Posted by crullier View Post
    I don't know, been running it for a few weeks W/ worksharing. I was also running 2011 to build some families.
    no problems at all.
    Not to get off subject, but why do you build families in 2011? I am not versed in Revit family building yet, is there a benefit to this and then upgrading families to future releases?

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Basically to keep them compatible with Revit 2011,2012 and 2013. These families where for a manufacturer.
    If I were up to be with would have built them in 2012 (one version old).

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-06
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    51
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Since this is a pretty old thread, I was wondering if people are still having problems with any version/flavor of Revit and windows 8? Also, I'm interested to know if people are having any issues with any version of Navis and windows 8?

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2013 and Windows 8 !

    Not me, all is working well.

Similar Threads

  1. Exportar Revit 2012-2013 a 3ds Max Design 2013...
    By magdagarciavinuesa in forum Español - Revit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-04-16, 02:54 PM
  2. Revit 2013 Detail Views Showing up in Navisworks 2013
    By tfullerpipes in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-01-30, 07:37 AM
  3. Bay Windows - True Bay Windows cannot be created in Revit or can they?
    By robinhill833400 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2012-10-03, 03:55 PM
  4. Revit 2013/FBX and MAx 2013
    By ntn75 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-08-13, 01:37 PM
  5. Revit 2013 (Design Suite) VS. Revit Architecture
    By Revitaoist in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-05-24, 11:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •