Thread: Candidate Information: Smith, Michael

Default Candidate Information: Smith, Michael

Michael Smith.jpg

Candidate Statement:

I have been passionate about the work AUGI does for the community since I started as the BIM manager for C.W. Driver. I have worked as an author for AUGI world and later as a content manager for the publication and love the idea of sharing information with the community. I am very impressed with the work that comes from these publications and feel that a core part of a user group is pushing the bounds of the industry.

I also have a great passion and record of working with Autodesk. I was an author for Mastering Navisworks 2012 and 2013 books and will be teaching a Navisworks lab at this year’s AU. I have been attending BUGIE (BIM user group inland empire) for over two and a half years now. I frequently lecture at different conferences including CASH, BUGIE, ASHE, CSI, Revit Technology conference, and to different industry firms.

As a board member, I would like to work on unifying the local user group chapters. I think it sad that there are so many users groups sharing such great data all around the globe, yet none are unified. I would like to see how these local chapters could be registered with AUGI and even located with the AUGI website. It would be very exciting to explore the possibility of sharing the groups information possibly in the form of standardized minutes and forms.

I would like to explore ways that SEO (search engine optimization) could be better situated to help more users find the AUGI publications. Such rich information abounds in these publications, yet google searches so rarely reveal the information. I think this bears investigation and correction.

In conclusion, I am seeking appointment to the AUGI board to guide the users group to solve problems, unify local chapters, and increase accessibility of information to the community.