See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Xref wont bind

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Cool Xref wont bind

    I can not get our title block to bind in our drawing sheets. I get an error that says "the xref failed to bind for some unknown reason". There is a yellow symbol next to the check mark in the status column in the xref manager. When you hover the cursor over it the message says recent change. Reloading the xref does not resolve this. Anyone have a clue why this is happening?
    Ted Evans
    CAD Manager
    RadioShack Corp.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,719
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Xref wont bind

    Have you tried running the Audit Command.
    You may have some errors.
    Also try purging both drawings, and check for circular references. ie make sure all attachments are overlay.
    Are you trying to do a bind as a "bind" or bind as an "insert"
    If you have the same block name in both drawings, bind as an insert may cause issues as well.

  3. #3
    Lord&Master of Space&time Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,655
    Steve Bennett |CAD Manager
    Moffatt & Nichol | Adventures in BIM

  4. #4
    ACA/AMEP Forum Moderator arcadia_x27's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    The 'Mill,Moncton, NB, Canada
    Posts
    516
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Xref wont bind

    Could it be a circular reference? Is the file name of the XREF youre inserting the same name as the drawing its being inserted into. that would cause it not to bind.
    Jason Goodwin
    Using ACA 2012


  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-03
    Posts
    1
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Xref wont bind

    I have just had this same issue and after a lot of head scratching I managed to establish that the XREF had an error of some minuscule proportion but whatever it was, it prevented me from binding the drawing.
    To overcome the issue I Purged the XREF and then preformed an Audit on said XREF. I then opened the drawing containing the XREF and it reloaded as normal and allowed me to bind it.
    Hope this helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Bind Xref's in C#
    By joelkarr in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-01-29, 08:46 PM
  2. Bind xref
    By slaforest in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-09-28, 01:31 PM
  3. Unable to Bind Xref's / Some Xref's no longer there
    By cwjean76 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-22, 04:00 PM
  4. insert xref wont bind
    By gisdude in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-05-10, 02:34 PM
  5. Xref Bind
    By rflores.73491 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-01-05, 11:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •