Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Schedule family twice under two different parameter groupings?

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Posts
    441
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Schedule family twice under two different parameter groupings?

    It's a complicated situation.

    Let me start off by saying that I expect that Revit is expressly designed to prevent this kind of thing.

    I have a window family with a fire separation butting into the mullion in the middle. It's a beefly mullion in the window family. I now know that I should have made two windows but there are situations where both windows serve the same fire compartment, and I've used the same family. They have the same header on the exterior wall. ie-it's not (terribly) obvious from the exterior that the dwelling unit division is in the middle of the window.

    I have about three or four different window families that do this because of sizes, styles, headers, etc.... I'd rather not double my window family count.

    I've scheduled the windows in a given fire compartment by adding an instance parameter that I can sort/group by. This is really nice, because I can get a total of the window area in any given fire compartment.
    So I've had to give the double window to one if the fire compartments. The one it crosses into is missing half of that window family's area.

    I went and set up an IF statement that either report the glazed area, or half of the glazed area, based on an integer switch in the type.

    Now what I need to do is trick Revit into reporting that half area twice. Under two separate instance parameter groupings.

    This is a tough one to explain. Is it coming across at all?

    I have a window
    it sits across the junction of fire compartment 1 and fire compartment 2
    Half of it's area reports to FC1, because I gave the family an instance parameter to sort by.
    I'd like to trick Revit into reporting this half area again, but sorted by FC2, so it totals in a schedule correctly for each fire compartment.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Posts
    441
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule family twice under two different parameter groupings?

    Here's what I've had to do.
    It's an opportunity for a coordination error, but I'm out of time.

    I've created walls in a phase after working drawing for walls. I've used the mark parameter to label the walls as a fire compartment. These report the area of exterior wall facing one direction for this calculation per our building codes.

    In order to get the windows to report twice, I've had to create a duplicate, which I put in the later phase walls that I was using only for area, and an outline in a set of elevation views.
    I changed the half area of these copies to report to the other fire compartment.

    Problem being, now I have an isolated set of windows which could fall out of date.

    Plus side is, only the permit authorities need this drawing. After the permit application, it can lapse. The only thing that could dredge it up is if they want to put in bigger windows.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to antman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Redding, CA
    Posts
    425
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule family twice under two different parameter groupings?

    How about two instance parameters?
    FC Count - Default is 1. This window in question would be set to 2.
    Area Final - Formula =Area / FC Count

    You could even create a filter that turns all windows red if FC Count has a value greater than 1, to easily coordinate with the fire compartment plan.

Similar Threads

  1. Clash Detection Groupings
    By Wish List System in forum NavisWorks - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-05-25, 03:33 PM
  2. host parameter defined by nested family parameter
    By t1.shep in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-02-26, 12:23 PM
  3. Need to tag/schedule a shared parameter associated with a nested family
    By Richard at AA in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-11-07, 09:05 AM
  4. Linking YES/NO Shared Parameter to TEXT in Family Parameter
    By nobetteralias in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-10-14, 01:55 AM
  5. Is Property Box (Groupings) Customizable?
    By omorah in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-22, 07:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •