Thread: "Default Sill Height" changes the "cut plane" display of the Window!!!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Login to Give a bone

Default "Default Sill Height" changes the "cut plane" display of the Window!!!

I've been using Revit for over 7 years, and I just figured out something that has never made sense. In Architectural Desktop (aka AutoCAD for Architects) you could change the individual cut plane for the windows so that they showed up correctly in plan view, but in Revit, there was never that option. I have gotten use to creating plan regions (which you still have to do for windows that do not intersect the default view cut plane) and different Revit families for windows that would not behave properly (This is really difficult with double hung windows that you want to show the bottom panel on and not the top panel). But it was not until today that I realized that the "Default Sill Height" setting in the window actually controls the cut plane for the window in plan veiw regardless of where the view cut plane is as long as it is intersecting the window somewhere.

Here's the breakdown:

1. The Family Editor controls how a window is displayed no matter what height the project view cut plane is set at as long as it intersects the window.
    2. The cut plane in the Family Editor controls where a window is cut and how it is displayed in the project plan views (i.e. 4'-0")
    • In the Family Editor go to the "Ref Level" or floor plan view of the window
    • In the Properties box, select "Floor Plan" from the drop down box.
    • Scroll down and click the Edit button next to "View Range"

3. The Default Sill Height for the window type controls the height of the sill in the Family Editor and thus where the cut plane cuts the window (i.e. sill = 3'-0")
    • If the Family Editor cut plane is at 4' and Default Sill Height is at 3' then you will be cutting the bottom 1' of the window