Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Constraints for Length

  1. #1
    Member awinkler514194's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Location
    Pittburgh, PA
    Posts
    49
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Constraints for Length

    I need to place constraints on a length of metal panel and I can not for the life of me create a parameter that will work. What I need the parameter to do is the Length of the Panel can be as long as 30'-0" and as small as 1'-6" but I can not make it so that if the panel is say fifteen that it will stay that way. What am I doing wrong? Or am I using the wrong parameters I usually use dimensions and constraints so. I think I have tried hundreds of formulas and none of them work.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    718
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    You would need to create two parameters to define a valid range for the value. One parameter would be the user-inputted value, and the other parameter would be the true value, which would have the following formula:

    if(Length_UserInput > 30', 30', if(Length_UserInput < 1' 6", 1' 6", Length_UserInput ))
    Corey D.Please let the saying "The only stupid question is the one not asked" not be seen as a challenge to defy it.

  3. #3
    Member awinkler514194's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Location
    Pittburgh, PA
    Posts
    49
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    the length_userinput would be a constraint or dimension?

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    718
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    Nope. The sole purpose of that parameter is to allow the user to input the desired length. The second Parameter (with the formula) is tied to the contraining dimension. See attached example.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Corey D.Please let the saying "The only stupid question is the one not asked" not be seen as a challenge to defy it.

  5. #5
    Member awinkler514194's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Location
    Pittburgh, PA
    Posts
    49
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    ok. so I understand that but how do I make it so that the formula can not be changed about an outside source.
    (sorry everything about that I know is self taught.)

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    718
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    Quote Originally Posted by awinkler514194 View Post
    ok. so I understand that but how do I make it so that the formula can not be changed about an outside source.
    Sorry, I don't exactly understand what you mean. You wish to prevent changes to the formula from an "outside source"; do you that mean you want to stop other users from being able to open the family and change the formula?
    Corey D.Please let the saying "The only stupid question is the one not asked" not be seen as a challenge to defy it.

  7. #7
    Member awinkler514194's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Location
    Pittburgh, PA
    Posts
    49
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    Quote Originally Posted by CADastrophe View Post
    Sorry, I don't exactly understand what you mean. You wish to prevent changes to the formula from an "outside source"; do you that mean you want to stop other users from being able to open the family and change the formula?
    yes that's what I want.Thanks!

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    718
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    Quote Originally Posted by awinkler514194 View Post
    yes that's what I want.Thanks!
    Unfortunately, that's not possible. There is no mean of protecting a family or its contents at the moment, that I am aware of.
    Corey D.Please let the saying "The only stupid question is the one not asked" not be seen as a challenge to defy it.

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time dduarte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    524
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Constraints for Length

    You could put the formula in a nested family and name the nested family the same as the host family. A user would have to know to rename the nested family in order to get it to open in the same session of Revit as the host family. A deterrent but not a true lock.
    David Duarte
    Appleton & Associates Inc.

    I have heard enough to know that you can never hear enough to know.

Similar Threads

  1. IFC - how to export length instead of cut length on framing
    By cze.marty950367 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-03-22, 10:21 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-03, 07:10 AM
  3. Arc length??? Any way to draw to an exact length?
    By fhoffnar in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2007-10-15, 02:21 PM
  4. Draw an ARC by length, not cord length
    By melanie.santer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 03:35 PM
  5. Constraints: Sightline Based Constraints
    By ronjon in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-01-11, 01:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •