Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't remove elements from workset.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Can't remove elements from workset.

    I have a project where some elements (walls, windows, etc) are stuck in a workset called "structural settings".
    I have not created this workset and it is not part of the "user-created" worksets.
    When I select an element and try to change the workset parameter the drop down-menu does not have another option, nor it lets me to input anything.
    I am the owner of all worksets and no one else is a borrower.
    Is there any way to get these elements back to the "user-created" worksets?

  2. #2
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,100
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Can't remove elements from workset.

    The technical that usually works is to set the correct Active Workset, select the elements that are not assigned correctly, Cut to Clipboard and then Paste Aligned Same Place. This forces Revit to recreate the elements, thus assigning them to the correct workset. The Revit Clinic recently wrote about trapping a couple conditions that can cause this, might have a read.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Can't remove elements from workset.

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    The technical that usually works is to set the correct Active Workset, select the elements that are not assigned correctly, Cut to Clipboard and then Paste Aligned Same Place. This forces Revit to recreate the elements, thus assigning them to the correct workset. The Revit Clinic recently wrote about trapping a couple conditions that can cause this, might have a read.
    Thank you Steve! Done!

    Other users might want to watch out for phasing arrangements (do phase by phase). I have a multiphase project and had to re-do the steps above as I pasted all the objects in the same phase the first time I tried it. Fortunately we didn't loose any work by others when rolling back the project to re-paste.

Similar Threads

  1. Retain workset association when copying elements to another location.
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-12-16, 06:18 PM
  2. Cannot borrow elements without taking entire workset
    By dfi in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-04-06, 06:53 AM
  3. Moving elements to another workset
    By wags5116 in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-11-19, 09:23 PM
  4. [2010] Copy Elements Onto Similar Workset (OPEN)
    By mwiggins in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-07-10, 04:26 PM
  5. Some elements cannot change workset
    By wjspence in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-07-29, 08:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •