Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Parametric Association with rooms

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-04
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Parametric Association with rooms

    I so hope someone can help
    Ive been given the task to see if it can be done and ive hit a brick wall.

    Ive been asked to see if it is possible to have a family selection associated with a specific parameter within a room
    For example:
    If a room has a heat specification of 1 when you drop a family (say a radiator) into that room it will change the rad to a type 1
    If then I have a room with a heat specification of 2 (dropping the same radiator family) into that room it will change to a rad type 2.

    They are wanting this as an automated action, but I dont think this can be done, can it?

    I know you can create different family types within a family but is there a way of making it automated depending on a specific parameter?

    Please help im pulling my hair out trying to figure it out, and when you tell said people im not sure it can be done, their reply is im sure it can you just need to find out how. AAAHHHH!!!!!

    Thanks so much in advance
    Mark

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time mwiggins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    574
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric Association with rooms

    Can't do it auotmatically!
    Margaret Wiggins
    Revit MEP 2006 and Greater
    Electrical Designer
    Detroit, Michigan
    wigginsm@yahoo.com

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,551
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric Association with rooms

    Although not automatic I'd suggest you utilize schedules to help get this done as efficiently as possible.
    Create a schedule of the equipment and include room data in the schedule. You can then sort your schedule based on the parameter of your choosing. Collapse the schedule so it does not 'itemize every instance' and then fill in the field in the equipment family to match the one in the room/space.
    ____________________________
    Dimitri Harvalias LEED AP
    Summit BIM Consulting
    BIMblog.ca
    I was never just a CAD monkey, so I refuse to be a BIMpanzee!
    A BIM without the 'I' is just a BM - those in the medical profession know what that amounts to

Similar Threads

  1. Add Rooms Area when using From/To Rooms in Schedules
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-03-08, 07:49 AM
  2. Cut Plane Association...
    By lammarlon in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-05-12, 01:42 AM
  3. lost association
    By sturner in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-10-13, 07:41 PM
  4. Project Association
    By jenniferchavez in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-11-13, 02:20 PM
  5. Parametric History/Action list or Parametric Schematic view
    By Richard McCarthy in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-21, 01:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •