Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Multi-Leader Text Case

  1. #1
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Default Multi-Leader Text Case

    Summary: Use Change text case in multi-leader

    Description: Be able to utilize the changetextcase express tool within multi-leaders.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD Civil 3D - Other

    Submitted By: M Hooker on 06/21/2013


  2. #2
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    Firstly, this wish should apply to AutoCAD, and all AutoCAD-based verticals will inherit the enhancement.



    In the interim, while we wait for Autodesk to incorporate this into the application, you could code a .NET plug-in which implements a ContextMenuExtension which registers a PopUp Event handler, filtering Editor.SelectImplied().Value for AcDbMLeader only, and if that criteria is met, enables a context (right-click) menu item which allows you to change the case.

    Now, I suspect that you will not be able to call the Express Tool via SendStringToExecute() (speculation on my part), but you could certainly roll your own, which would allow for both UPPER, lower, and Sentence cases. Text formatting may present a few speed bumps.



    As one small example of a custom context menu, see this, and this post.



    [Edit] - For reference, here's a link on How to convert strings to lower, upper, or title (proper) case by using Visual C#.

    [Edit] - You'll also have to account for ContentType (i.e., MText or Attributed Block, etc.).
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2013-06-26 at 05:45 AM.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  3. #3
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    ... this wish should apply to AutoCAD, and all AutoCAD-based verticals will inherit the enhancement.
    I've moved this wish to the AutoCAD Wish List forum, as MLeaders are not Civil 3D specific Objects.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  4. #4
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    :: Update ::

    I've made a fair amount of progress on granting this wish.

    So far, I've implemented a right click (context) menu, which properly filters for only DBText, MText, and MLeader implied selection (otherwise disabled), and successfully changes text string case between lowercase, Sentence case, Title Case, and UPPERCASE... At this time, MLeader support is relegated to MLeader.ContentType.MTextContent.

    Things still on my to-do list, are add support for tOGGLE cASE, and MLeader.ContentType.BlockContent (specifically, nested AttributeDefinitions)... Then this will be ready for publish at Autodesk Exchange.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  5. #5
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    Here's a couple of screenshots I neglected to attach to my earlier post:

    bbox_RightClickChangeCase.titlecase.before.png bbox_RightClickChangeCase.titlecase.after.png
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  6. #6
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    tOGGLE cASE has been implemented....

    My only concern, is that I am unsure how this may, or may not affect formatted text string values.

    Autodesk exposes TextEditor.CreateTextEditor(MText mtext), which I've employed for both AcDbMText, and the MText Property Object of AcDbMLeader (where mleader.ContentType == ContentType.MTextContent), but unfortunately, this TextEditor does not support DBText (AcDbText), nor AttributeReference Types.

    Further, TextEditor is an ObjectARX Wrapped Type, as is TextEditorSelection, so I'm not entirely sure how to add Extension Methods to this (if it's even possible?)... More specifically, I can add an Extension Method, but getting that Extension Method to actually cause native ObjectARX to 'support' Types it currently does not, seems unlikely.

    ... More on TextEditor here.



    /Update
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  7. #7
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Exclamation Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    This wish has been reported as granted and already in the software.

  8. #8
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    Quote Originally Posted by Wish List System View Post
    This wish has been reported as granted and already in the software.
    This feature is not in fact part of any shipping product at this time.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2018-08
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Multi-Leader Text Case

    Is there any change on this? I'm having to convert drawings in ALL CAPS and TCASE doesn't work on multileaders. Having to individually highlight text, right click, to then change only to lowercase (uppercase being the only other option) is proving to be very labourious.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 03:48 PM
  2. multi leader text alignment
    By richardronan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-17, 12:50 PM
  3. 2012: AUTOCAD CIVIL 3D 2012 MULTI LEADER TEXT ANGLE
    By ryager in forum AutoCAD Annotation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-04-25, 04:10 PM
  4. Text Height of multi leader
    By cadman_meg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-19, 03:51 PM
  5. multi leader text box
    By bowtle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-07-25, 04:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •