Thread: learning revit on the job - complicated roof

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Login to Give a bone

Default learning revit on the job - complicated roof

Hello All,

I have been teaching myself Revit Architecture for the last several months. I still feel overwhelmed with all of the nuances and commands but I feel like I am getting a handle on it somewhat. Trying to take it one level at a time. Anyway, I attached a rough sketch I produced on my tablet of a project I am working on that I need to create a roof for. I have a good bit of experience in creating roofs like this in 3ds max and sketchup so I keep thinking of ideas from that perspective. I could use a sweep tool and boolean the eyebrows or possible dormers into the sweep model and then use the sweep tool for miscellaneous details. Or, I could model one section of the entire roof and then rotate/copy instance. However, in Revit, I am not sure what the right approach would be. I think there are several possibilities but I am sure one would get the most desirable result as a part of the revit model and I thought I would ask for some expert opinions. I do have this posted in another forum I frequent so please excuse me if that is in bad taste. I am trying to reach out to the two resources I have found valuable in this pursuit.
    Attached Images Attached Images

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: learning revit on the job - complicated roof

You should probably break this roof into several separate components. One for the main roof and then individual elements for the dormers. I have edited the footprint of the main roof where the dormers interact with it. I did this with the ellipse, but maybe a arc would give cleaner results. The other method to use would be to create a mass and apply a roof to each face.

Hope this helps,
    Jeff S.

Login to Give a bone