Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Linetypes now have bad definitions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Linetypes now have bad definitions

    These linetypes no longer work in my drawings correctly. I haven't made any changes to the linetypes that I know of. Might be an issue with the ltypeshp.lin file. However, I didn't modify that file either. Can someone help with my problem?

    This was copied out of my acad.lin file.

    ;; Complex linetypes
    ;;
    ;; Complex linetypes have been added to this file.
    ;; These linetypes were defined in LTYPESHP.LIN in
    ;; Release 13, and are incorporated in ACAD.LIN in
    ;; Release 14.
    ;;
    ;; These linetype definitions use LTYPESHP.SHX.
    ;;
    *FENCELINE1,Fenceline circle ----0-----0----0-----0----0-----0--
    A,.25,-.1,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,x=-.1,s=.1],-.1,1
    *FENCELINE2,Fenceline square ----[]-----[]----[]-----[]----[]---
    A,.25,-.1,[BOX,ltypeshp.shx,x=-.1,s=.1],-.1,1
    *TRACKS,Tracks -|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-
    A,.15,[TRACK1,ltypeshp.shx,s=.25],.15
    *BATTING,Batting SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
    A,.0001,-.1,[BAT,ltypeshp.shx,x=-.1,s=.1],-.2,[BAT,ltypeshp.shx,r=180,x=.1,s=.1],-.1
    *ZIGZAG,Zig zag /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
    A,.0001,-.2,[ZIG,ltypeshp.shx,x=-.2,s=.2],-.4,[ZIG,ltypeshp.shx,r=180,x=.2,s=.2],-.2

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Standard acad.lin linetypes. LTYPESHP.SHX isn't loading for some reason. Try:
    Code:
     (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX")
    at the command line. It should be in AutoCAD's roaming support folder. Never seen that happen before.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Thank you, I have both of the files and they are in my support folder. AutoCAD 2013 will not load the linetypes.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Use the Load command, find the support folder and load LTYPESHP.SHX. If that doesn't work you may need to either get the file from someone else or use the Compile command to recompile it from LTYPESHP.SHP which you will have to search for. It will be in a ..\root\support folder. First open it to make sure TRACK1, ZIG, BOX, CIRC1 & BAT are in there. They are the shapes required by those linetypes.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Posts
    383
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Quote Originally Posted by mike.mccall View Post
    These linetypes no longer work in my drawings correctly. I haven't made any changes to the linetypes that I know of...
    Is it happening on some drawings only or also on new drawing? The problem might not be on the LTYPESHP.SHX (but I am not sure).

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    1. When you entered (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX") at the command line what did it return?
    2. Explain "These linetypes no longer work in my drawings correctly." Do you get an error somehow? Do they look continuous? Are the dashes and spaces there, but no shapes?
    3. With the linetypes loaded use the Purge command, switch from "View items you can purge" to "View items you cannot purge" and click the + by Shapes. Is ltypeshp.shx there?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    1. When you entered (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX") at the command line what did it return?

    "C:\\Users\\mccall\\appdata\\roaming\\autodesk\\autocad 2013 - english\\r19.0\\enu\\support\\LTYPESHP.SHX"

    2. Explain "These linetypes no longer work in my drawings correctly." Do you get an error somehow? Do they look continuous? Are the dashes and spaces there, but no shapes?

    The lines show as continuous. When I try to load them I get a bad definition. See attached word file with screen shots pasted.

    3. With the linetypes loaded use the Purge command, switch from "View items you can purge" to "View items you cannot purge" and click the + by Shapes. Is ltypeshp.shx there?
    See attached word file with screen shots pasted

    This morning when I started up AutoCAD 2013, new blank drawing. I loaded two linetypes, tracks & zig zag. Both worked fine. I then loaded a template file where those linetypes are supposed to be but they are not there. I then tried to insert my template file and the linetypes were no longer good, (displayed as continuous lines).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Quote Originally Posted by archie.manza View Post
    Is it happening on some drawings only or also on new drawing? The problem might not be on the LTYPESHP.SHX (but I am not sure).
    It happens on all new drawings and some old drawings. Sometimes, an old drawing will display the linetype correctly.

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Quote Originally Posted by mike.mccall View Post
    It happens on all new drawings and some old drawings. Sometimes, an old drawing will display the linetype correctly.
    You must have more than one ltypeshp.shx somewhere. Compare (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX") results on a drawing that displays them correctly -vs- one that doesn't. If it's the same purge the linetypes and ltypeshp.shx, then try reloading the linetype. If that works do the same on each of your dwt files that have the bad one loaded.

    Then search for ltypeshp.shx on your hard drive. Don't delete anything from a UserDataCache\Support folder! If there's one someplace odd like the Templates folder get rid of it.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-07
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linetypes now have bad definitions

    Copy the font files to another folder (such as D:\fonts) and try it again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Property Set Definitions
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-02-03, 06:45 PM
  2. attribute definitions
    By domvanroo in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-03-30, 07:19 AM
  3. IES web file definitions
    By angus.110169 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-12-03, 05:13 AM
  4. bad definitions in custom linetypes
    By jgratton in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-11-04, 05:07 AM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-05-31, 08:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •