Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-07
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    29
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    That's it, really. I can draw block thingy's in isometric, and I can even simulate circles with ellipses. However, three things elude me in isometric: chamfer, fillet, and dimensioning. I can't find anything useful in on-line tutorials. Can someone please help? Thanks

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    3,636
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    To clarify, you are asking about isometric drafting? not an isometric view of a 3d space?

    If that's the case, then a fillet rould need to be an isocircle (ellipse) that's trimmed backto the lines. and the lines trimmed back to the isocircle. Chamfering you'll need to lay out by hand, eg measure back on each plane the chamfer distance, and draw the chamfer lines in.

    Dimensioning just takes defining an appropriate style -- a couple of nice samples have been posted here in the past.

    I don't expect that any CAD program will provide better tools to do isometric drafting, (or cabinet projection, or cavilier projection either). Doing 3D is where the trendiness is. About the only place that isometrics have in CAD is as riser diagrams,,,,,
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-08
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    I'm definitely a novice in Autocad but I use a .lsp routine for my isometric views. All my drawings are in 2D, no 3D stuff.

    Gene

  4. #4
    Active Member reikajapan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    85
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    See the attached for iso dims.

    For a fillet, especially a small one I wouldn't go through the trouble of using an isocircle, by the time you trim away all but 1/4 of it, it will look almost identical to just using the fillet command. Just experiment with sizes until you get it close.

    Chamfer is simply measuring along two sides to identify the end points and connecting the dots.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    3,636
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    Quote Originally Posted by easymike29412754 View Post
    I'm definitely a novice in Autocad but I use a .lsp routine for my isometric views. All my drawings are in 2D, no 3D stuff.

    Gene
    Not sure if you realize, but the SNAP command has a style option that will simplify isometric drafting, setting the crossharis at the correct andgles for isometric, and making it easy to toggle thru the isometric 'planes' by tapping F5, When Snapstyle is set to Iso, the ellipse command automagically offers an option for an isocircle on the current plane.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-08
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    Not sure if you realize, but the SNAP command has a style option that will simplify isometric drafting, setting the crossharis at the correct andgles for isometric, and making it easy to toggle thru the isometric 'planes' by tapping F5, When Snapstyle is set to Iso, the ellipse command automagically offers an option for an isocircle on the current plane.
    Heh, heh. Thanks for the info but I'm still using Autocad for DOS.

    Gene

  7. #7
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    South Eastern US, exact location unknown
    Posts
    1,512
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    Quote Originally Posted by easymike29412754 View Post
    Heh, heh. Thanks for the info but I'm still using Autocad for DOS.

    Gene
    What version of AutoCAD are you using and it is AutoCAD LT or Full AutoCAD?
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-08
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jmurphy View Post
    What version of AutoCAD are you using and it is AutoCAD LT or Full AutoCAD?
    Autocad12 for DOS. Not LT.

    Gene

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-07
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    29
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    [QUOTE=cadtag;1241919]
    Dimensioning just takes defining an appropriate style -- a couple of nice samples have been posted here in the past.
    [QUOTE]

    Thanks for the answer, Cadtag. I was scared you would say that. It seems I am doomed to be a bit old-fashioned!

    However, others have casually mentioned that " ... dimensioning just takes defining an appropriate style ... ". No-one yet has given me any indication as to how to do that. I have no idea what you are talking about. Would you please explain in more detail?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to Norton_cad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-05
    Location
    Bardwell Valley, Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    491
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do I fillet, chamfer, and dimension in isometric?

    Draw in plan view, then change the view to iso metric. Then save the view as a WMF & import that file with WMFIN command. Dimension to your style preference. I would change the end tick angles, and incline the text.
    Ohm's Law - Electricity follows the path of least resistance.

    Regards,

    Mark Norton,

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3d fillet / chamfer tool
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-07-16, 04:58 PM
  2. Fillet and Chamfer
    By BCrouse in forum ACA General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2008-05-16, 12:26 PM
  3. Fillet and Chamfer!
    By rsmannino in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-08, 12:50 AM
  4. Crossing window for fillet and chamfer
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-13, 01:26 AM
  5. Dims and Chamfer / Fillet command
    By av.33771 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-12-15, 01:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •