Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Laptop req. for basic Revit/CAD 2013/14?

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2013-09
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Laptop req. for basic Revit/CAD 2013/14?

    Hello AUGI!

    I'll be starting a Bachelor of Architectural Technology and Construction Management in Januar 2014. At that point i will buy a lenovo W530 from the school that has all the bells and whistles.

    But i have a couple of months now and i would like to play around in the programs. Find some tutorials and stuff, so i can learn the programs interface and basics.

    I'm looking for a reasonable priced ultrabook, that i'll hook up to an external monitor, that i can use for this.

    I just bought a
    Fujitsu UH572M 13,3" / i5-3317U / 8GB / 32GB SSD / HD4000, but i don't like the keyboad and trackpad and i can still send it back. I will say i can live it, most of the time i will use at home with a ext. monitor and keyboard, but on the go, i will miss a more quality keyboard and trackpad.

    The alternative in my pricerange is an Asus vivobook S400 which has better keyboad and trackpad, but lower specs. i3-3217u, 4GB ram, 24ssd.

    Will the Vivobook be enough for light tutorials and just learning to navigate the programs?

    I guess if i work for 3-4 hours a day over 3 months at some point i might need a more powerfull machine, and the i3/4gb ram will not be enough?

    Or maybe even the Fujitsu i5/8GB ram will not be enough?

    Thank you very much for help



  2. #2
    100 Club vgonzales's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    New Haven, CT
    Posts
    136
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Laptop req. for basic Revit/CAD 2013/14?

    I highly recommend getting a laptop capable of holding more RAM than 8 GB. 4 GB is dedicated to Windows and the rest is for Revit depending on the size of the project. Ideally 16 GB RAM is optimal.
    Regards,
    Leo
    Virgilio Gonzales, AIA

    "Don't draw it. Build it!"
    HP Elite Book 850 G1, Win 7 Pro x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-4600 2.10 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, Revit 2014 UR2

Similar Threads

  1. Exportar Revit 2012-2013 a 3ds Max Design 2013...
    By magdagarciavinuesa in forum Español - Revit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-04-16, 02:54 PM
  2. 2013 Objects From Revit MEP 2013 Missing in Navis Manage 2013
    By MetalliCAD in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-03-05, 07:52 PM
  3. Revit 2013 Detail Views Showing up in Navisworks 2013
    By tfullerpipes in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-01-30, 06:37 AM
  4. Connecting Vault basic 2013 client to vault 2012 server
    By eradityabjoshi in forum Vault - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-05-30, 08:05 AM
  5. can you create plans in revit? basic basic
    By comical_wenger in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-22, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •