Thread: Creating a Rigid Frame family... don't know where to begin?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Login to Give a bone

Default Creating a Rigid Frame family... don't know where to begin?

I am new to creating families in Revit. Our company just hasn't had to do much of it yet.

Now, I am given the task of creating a rigid frame for an existing building that we are renovating. I'm not sure if I should model the angles and plates that make up the frame, or just model a mass of some sort?
    Also, the frame has a curve where it bends, and I'm not sure how to do that either. Any help is appreciated!
    I have included a picture below
    Attached Images Attached Images

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Creating a Rigid Frame family... don't know where to begin?

I would start with Generic Model Family. Also you could model-in-place inside your project with Generic Model if you keep in mind your work planes.
    The ideal is about the same, but lets start with starting with new Family using Generic Model. Pick New Family, then pick Generic Model Template.
    Should open with vertical and horizontal reference planes in the floor plan Ref. Level. This would be your rigid frame base view. Pick reference plane then offset the center horizontal line for the width of the frame flanges, adding new reference planes above and below this line. now repeat to offset the center reference line, to add new reference planes above and below for the width of frame web member. Now Change to Elevation Front View, this should set your work plane to Center (front/back).