Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Mining (extracting) information from conceptual massing family

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Mining (extracting) information from conceptual massing family

    A divided surface in conceptual massing environment will show its area in its instance properties. Is there a way to get access to that information in the project enviornment once you load the mass family in a project?
    It will be great if this information can be scheduled in a project. Conceptual Mass Area.png

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    933
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Mining (extracting) information from conceptual massing family

    I've linked to this add-in a number of times, but here goes again:
    http://www.apps.case-inc.com/content...eter-parameter

    You should be able to create a shared parameter called "Surface Area" in your family, then using the add-in, migrate the Divided Surface Area value to your shared "Surface Area" value.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Mining (extracting) information from conceptual massing family

    damon.sidel,
    Thank you very much for your response. I can see this app being very helpful in a lot of sitiuations. So thank you very much for reminding me about it.
    However, in this specific situation, it is not very useful. Maybe I am missing something, and maybe you can point me in the right directions - but the 'Divided Surface Area' parameter that needs to be migrated is not available in the dropdown list of available paramters. What am I doing wrong? / any other work around of this issue?

    Thank you very much for your help.Case App - Param to Param.png

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    933
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Mining (extracting) information from conceptual massing family

    I haven't tested it with conceptual masses, so you may be correct. You could try doing a roof/floor/wall by face in your project and see if the plugin recognizes the area parameter of the roof/floor/wall.

Similar Threads

  1. Add Formit to conceptual massing interface
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-01-03, 06:13 AM
  2. Conceptual Massing Question
    By kathey1 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-09-06, 12:22 PM
  3. Conceptual Massing (Surfaces)
    By ricardo.camelo in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-27, 01:24 AM
  4. Conceptual Massing: Offset
    By jpyeatt in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-12-15, 06:57 PM
  5. Extracting Information from a Family
    By steve.70285 in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-01-13, 08:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •