See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's left to learn

Login to Give a bone

Default What's left to learn

Hi guys,

I am a 3 year cad operator, been doing this since i got out of school. During my 3 years in oil and gas, I've been using programs such as autocad, procad and Cadworx. Since the day I've started up until now, I've been learning new tips and tricks with each software. This is what ive learned to do thus far;

-Modify .Pgp parameters & use hotkeys for every day to day commands
    -alternate default CUI macros

My question for the community is, what else can I learn/do with the software to better enhance my efficiency with the software? I know there is a TON more for me to learn with the program, i just dont know what those things are. Anyone with immense knowledge about the software, please dont be shy

thanks in advance

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: What's left to learn

Networking, setvars, and AutoLISP basics come to mind. IMO an Acad operator ought to be able to use some trivial LISP at the command line, as well as know the names and settings options for common system variables. And, working in any kind of office environment efficiently basically requires knowing at least something about how that office network is configured and operating.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

System variables, plotting settings, standardizing procedures, and file organization. But don't skip knowing your industry. If you don't understand the temperature derating for higher wall thickness of A-234 GR WPB fittings you won't know that the engineer should have use the spec with the low temp materials, and you'll need to remodel later.

Login to Give a bone

Define "CAD Operator".

I'd say that dgorsman's reply, in particular, really applies to draughtsman/drafter or higher.

An operator normally does little more than transcribe existing paper sketches to CAD.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone