See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Splines versus interpolation

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Offsetting splines - what do I end up with?

    Hello,

    I looked into the help file to understand the functionality of spline inside inventor.
    I do have some questions below that I was unable to find answers to.
    Thank you
    Last edited by crullier; 2014-02-05 at 01:57 PM.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    guys I was reading the help fine and I found some of my answers there, sorry for the post above. I do have a valid question I hope you can answer for me.

    1) What entity is the curve that results from offsetting a spline?




    In the help I found this, leads me to believe that the offset curves are elipses joined together ? Can some one confirm what they are?
    Does inventor have a way to identify entities like you do in CAD or Rhino? "What" command?

    http://help.autodesk.com/view/INVNTO...E-B43684746564

    2) Is the curvature display not adjustable or configurable inside a sketch?

    Thank you

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    no one uh? "too technical" of a question..

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Posts
    190
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    An offset of a spline, whether it was created as a Control Vertex (CV) or Interpolation spline creates an Interpolation spline, fully constrained to the source curve. If you RMB on an Interpolation spline you will see an option to "Convert to CV Spline". Conversely, a RMB on a CV spline will show "Convert to Interpolation". If you RMB on the offset curve, you will see "Convert to spline". Choosing this will break the associativity to the original curve.

    Offsetting an ellipse creates an Interpolation spline as well, fully constrained to the source curve.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    thank you very much for posting this.
    Do you know of there a way to replicate this "full" constraint if it were undone?

  6. #6
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Posts
    190
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    No, sorry, I do not.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    205
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Splines versus interpolation

    Thanks, I am not its possible either.

Similar Threads

  1. INTERPOLATION N IMAGE DES POINTS FG
    By spoonix375174 in forum Français - 3ds Max / Maya
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-06-13, 02:35 PM
  2. Splines
    By sarahh62907188 in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-05-05, 07:46 AM
  3. splines
    By ivan.239950 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-08-30, 10:01 PM
  4. Converting Revit splines to AutoCAD splines
    By drubinoff in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-22, 01:51 PM
  5. Splines
    By dduarte in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-04-21, 09:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •