Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Description tied to sketch

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    89
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Description tied to sketch

    I wanted to find out if the initial skecth and extrusion can be tied to the description in the iProperties? In other words if I have a part that is going to be made from a 1/2" thick plate 8" wide and 18" long. When I create my sketch I have a rectangle that is 1/2" x 8", finish the sketch and extrude the part 18". When I look at the iProperties the description would automatically show the material as being 1/2" thick, 8" wide and 18" long.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    293
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Description tied to sketch

    I'm not an iLogic guru by any stretch of the imagination, but I almost got it to work.... almost...

    In a new part, create an iLogic rule, name it what you will, and paste this code into it:



    iWidth = RoundToFraction(Width, 1/16, RoundingMethod.Round)
    iLength = RoundToFraction(Length, 1/16, RoundingMethod.Round)
    iDepth = RoundToFraction(Depth, 1/16, RoundingMethod.Round)

    iProperties.Value("Project", "Description") = iDepth & "x" & iLength & "x" & iWidth



    Click OK. If you check the iProperties Description field, you will see: 0x0x0

    Open the Event Triggers dialog. Doubleclick on "Any Model Parameter Change" and put a check next to your rule. Do the same for "Part Geometry Change"

    Start a new sketch and draw a rectangle. For the first dimension enter the exact phrase: Length = 18. For the second enter the exact phrase: Width = 8. Finish the sketch. In the Extrude value field enter the exact phrase: Depth = 1/2 This is crucial, as you are defining the parameters that the iLogic rule needs to execute correctly.

    Click OK. RMB on your rule and select "Run Rule"

    Using the values you provided, this will populate the Description field with: 1/2x8x18 (I do not know how to get the " character to show up. This is the "almost" portion..)

    Modify any of the parameters and the Description will update.

    A long and winding reply, but it works... almost...

    HTH
    Last edited by Bunny; 2014-02-26 at 01:04 AM.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    89
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: Description tied to sketch

    Bunny, Thank you for the response. I have not used iLogic very much, but when I tried your solution it worked very well. The fact that you couldn't get the " marks to show, I couldn't either, is not a problem. Everyone involved, engineering and maintenace, agreed that they were not necessary. Againg thankt you for the information.

    Jim

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    293
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Description tied to sketch

    You are welcome...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-04-24, 05:44 PM
  2. Are Spaces Tied to Devices?
    By jason.combs in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-08-25, 06:50 PM
  3. Can Keynotes be tied to CSI
    By crarchitect in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-02-05, 02:43 PM
  4. How are Xrefs linked, tied to a drawing
    By jeff.garr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-09-30, 10:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •