Thread: How do I attach a footing to a CMU wall style in AutoCAD Architecture 2014?

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default How do I attach a footing to a CMU wall style in AutoCAD Architecture 2014?

This is my first time ever on AUGI forum!
    I have AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Student Version downloaded from Autodesk. I am trying to create different wall styles within a specific project. I'd like to have the 8X8X16 CMU walls be composed of the CMU wall AND a footing to go along with it. I'm thinking that if this is possible then the footings will "clean up" along with the walls and the walls will show up in section views with their footings. Can this be done, and if so, can you give the footings (stem width and height, pad width and height) dimensions? THANKS!

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: How do I attach a footing to a CMU wall style in AutoCAD Architecture 2014?

Yes, kinda, sorta. I find it easiest to separate out the foundation plan walls so that they just include the footing, stem wall and top course as the various foundation wall conditions often change at times other than when the upper wall conditions change.

Adding footings is as easy as defining the footing component dimensions and materials. Learn how to use the defining points of wall bottom, baseline, base height and top of wall and how to define the width dimensions using the formula of X + Base Width (*/+-) Y. Often the component needs to be defined as offset + Base Width * -1. If you get stuck, post up a file and a description of the actual desire dimensions.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: How do I attach a footing to a CMU wall style in AutoCAD Architecture 2014?