See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-10
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    I have just started to get further along into my First Revit 2014 project and have noticed a issue with changing plan line work on floors once their Visibility Graphics have been overwritten to 100% transparency. I am in the structural field and have had to show my floor slabs as transparent in order for the steel below to be visible. I have done this and edited the plan line work for the last 2 versions of Revit. Has anybody else experienced this issue?

    Attached is a screen shot of my VG settings for my Plan View.

    Thanks in advance for any help that can be provided.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2008-11
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    620
    2 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    Have you thought about creating a second view, with the only steel showing in your VG settings (ie turn everything else but structural framing and columns off)
    Then on your sheet you simply drop this view over top of your plan, set your steel projection lines to show hidden and this way you dont need to set your slab as transparent.
    I have the same issue with slabs, and needing to see things underneath and I found that using the overlayed views where I can rather than the transparency helps limit this problem.
    Also you can think about using a reflected ceiling plan to see the steel under, but it can be more difficult to control than the 2 overlayed views.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,757
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    I started a new project with the OOTB arch template in 2014.
    I added some beams & a floor . They didn't appear. I created a new plan by going to view - plan views - structural plan.
    I then changed the view discipline to structural and they show up as expected.
    Hope this helps.
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  4. #4
    100 Club lzaras's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    United States, next to a Lake
    Posts
    128
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    Jeff,
    I didn't have a chance to look at this before. But i just ran into it myself.

    All,
    We create our drawings in Discipline: Coordination so that we can see certain Architectural items and still see our structural items. However, in Coordination, we need to set our slabs (and, I've since discovered, our WALLS also) to be Transparent in order to see our Structure in the model.

    I was able to duplicate the OP's issue:
    I'm currently working on a slab that has a 2 1/2" depression. So I have two slabs; one at floor level and the second that is -2 1/2". I offset the lower slab extent/sketch 8" from the outline of the actual depressed area to allow for a thickened slab area. I now want the edge of the offset/lower slab to be dashed. I want to use the linework tool to make this edge a different linetype. However, the linework tool has no visual effect on my slab edges.

    This is a problem and should probably be submitted to Autodesk for further investigation.
    Leanne
    AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
    Revit Architecture 2012 Certified Professional
    2013 Gunslingers

    Charlotte, NC
    Revit2014 / Revit2015 / ACAD2013

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time dduarte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    526
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    This is causing us some trouble too.
    David Duarte
    Appleton & Associates Inc.

    I have heard enough to know that you can never hear enough to know.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-10
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Revit 2014 Floor Transparency and Linework Tool

    Thanks David and Craig for the suggestions! David, changing to the Structural Discipline does not correct the issue unfortunately. My problem is very similar to Leanne's. I have two slabs at different elevations (1-0" or so apart) and one needs to have the EOS shown dashed below. The line work tool will not change the slab below as long as I have to slabs set to 100% transparency. I have not tried creating a separate plan yet and working in two different instances of the same plan, one with all but the framing turned off, as Craig suggested. It sounds like it would be a lot more work trying to coordinate between the two different views. I may give it a shot and see how it works. I do agree with Leanne that this needs to be brought up to AutoDesk for further investigation.

    Thanks for your help!

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Transparency issues with Navisworks Manage 2014
    By vinnygolfer in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-02-24, 01:26 PM
  2. 2014: NEW CROP REGION TOOL IN REVIT STRUCTURE 2014
    By khanson-3b in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-11-27, 12:35 AM
  3. floor transparency
    By vanderloo5 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-02-21, 05:22 PM
  4. Tool Palette Transparency
    By H'Angus in forum ACA General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2007-05-02, 06:27 AM
  5. linework tool.
    By Archman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2003-11-20, 10:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •