Thread: New to piping environment

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default New to piping environment

Hello everybody!

I am new to the piping environment in inventor. After watching almost every clip i found i am still left with some questions and hope somebody can shad some light on this:

1) we usually use welded pipes (curves, tees etc..) but all the valves filters and so on are added via flanges to the pipes. so they can be replaced if needed. In inventor if i chose a welded pipe and then add a flanged component it is not adding the two flanges to the pipe itself. how can i fix this?

2) if i use a pipe type in different diameters, do i have to copy the style for each diameter i am using? Is that correct?

3) i draw a pipe, a few meters long, and place a tee in the middle. When i now want to make a new pipe i can attach it with no problems to the Tee, but not to the two open ends of the pipe. why?

4) flange and valve selection in the content center is quite limited and in no way similar to what we are actually using. how can i make my own one if i already have the 3D model? I mean, do i have to edit the model in order to have a copy for each size? do i have to specify somehow what the inlets and outlets of the valve are?

5) if i change diameter with a reducer, is it apropriate to make a new pipe for the smaller diameter or is it better to have it all on the same line and then manually change diamter?

Thank you!

Igor

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: New to piping environment

Quote Originally Posted by frifer View Post
    Hello everybody!

I am new to the piping environment in inventor. After watching almost every clip i found i am still left with some questions and hope somebody can shad some light on this: