Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Disable dropdown tip bubbles.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Disable dropdown tip bubbles.

    so these are almost as bad as Clippy, trying to give me advice all the time. I can click the "dont show me this again", but that only prevents THAT tip from being displayed. I dont want another one ever... is there a way to disable these?

    Image attached.tipbubbles.png

  2. #2
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disable dropdown tip bubbles.

    If you are only referring to the InfoCenter, are you open to removing InfoCenter completely? I don't know of a way to kill the messages while leaving InfoCenter intact.

    If so, put this in your "acad.lsp" file (create it if needed), and restart AutoCAD twice.

    Code:
    ;; Disable InfoCenter
    (vl-registry-write
      (strcat "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\" (vlax-product-key) "\\InfoCenter")
      "InfoCenterOn"
       0
    )
    If you're referring to all tooltips, such as those that appear on commands in the Ribbon, etc. that is a different precedure.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,719
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disable dropdown tip bubbles.

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post

    Code:
    ;; Disable InfoCenter
    (vl-registry-write
      (strcat "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\" (vlax-product-key) "\\InfoCenter")
      "InfoCenterOn"
       0
    )
    Be mindful of vlax-Product-Key in newer versions, as it may not always be the same as vlax-User-Product-Key; linky.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disable dropdown tip bubbles.

    To change other tooltip display options look at the Display tab in the Options command.

Similar Threads

  1. Whats the new way for my dropdown menus??
    By cadmaster77 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-09-20, 06:05 PM
  2. 2012: Properties dropdown
    By jonathanschade in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-08-10, 03:05 PM
  3. Need generic grid bubbles & section bubbles
    By paullee in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-09-19, 08:03 PM
  4. Dropdown Database List
    By gapple in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-09-22, 09:34 PM
  5. grid bubbles and level bubbles
    By sopori in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-08-25, 11:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •