See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: linking excel into revit

Login to Give a bone

Default linking excel into revit

I'm relatively new to revit and am trying to figure out how I can import an excel spreadsheet into a revit sheet. I'm sure its simple but the process is eluding me.

much appreciated.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: linking excel into revit

Quote Originally Posted by chardt676993 View Post
    I'm relatively new to revit and am trying to figure out how I can import an excel spreadsheet into a revit sheet. I'm sure its simple but the process is eluding me.

much appreciated.
    Hi,

There is no way to do it directly. You can use an addin like Excel2R to create a table in a drafting view that will be populated with the excel data.

If you want to use Excel to drive your model/families I'd recommend using Dynamo (it gives you almost unlimited possibilities with manipulating the data) or there is a number of other addins to do that.

Personally I think that if the information in a schedule that is placed on a Revit sheet is not extracted from the model, it should stay in Excel.

Thanks,

Maciej

All AUGI, all the time
    Login to Give a bone

As mentioned above there are several add-in pieces of software on the market (not by autodesk) that can handle linking between revit and excel.
    It is possible otherwise, but you need to double handle the excel file by routing it through autocad.
    Link the excel file into autocad as usual, and then you link the autocad file with the excel embed into revit and this works just fine also. Depending on how you need to place the excel file will depend on what kind of view to place it in, if it is only going on one sheet then link your autocad file into a drafting view, but if you want it over multiple views then you will need to link into a legend

Login to Give a bone